Research Guides: Design: Books

Publicly Available Digitized Material

If you are having trouble finding an older book or publication electronically, check both Hathi Trust and Internet Archive. Each of these databases has digitized books and other types of publications that have been made available from member institutions. There is a wealth of information in each that may help you in your research.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Interlibrary Loan Borrowing through ILLiad

Request books and other materials not available at OSU or OhioLINK through our ILLiad request system.

A Few Books on Design

Eileen Gray and the Design of Sapphic Modernity by Jasmine Rault
Call Number: N6797.G688 R38 2011
ISBN: 9780754669616
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Critical Design in Context by Matt Malpass
Call Number: NK1505 .M32 2017
ISBN: 9781472575173
Publication Date: 2017-02-23
Pop Art and Design by Anne Massey (Editor); Alex Seago (Editor)
Call Number: N6494.P6 P6545 2018
ISBN: 9781474226189
Publication Date: 2017-11-30

Image Source: Unsplash.

Other Catalogs

CML Catalog
The Columbus Metropolitan Library (CML) is a good source for popular books, media, entertainment, travel and genealogy materials. Those with CML library cards can request materials online and have them delivered to the most convenient branch library. Find additional public libraries in Ohio, or in over 125 Countries
Ohio Historical Society Catalog
Search the records of more than 230,000 items in the Ohio Historical Society's library, newspaper, manuscript, audiovisual, state archives, history, natural history, and archaeology collections.
Ohio Web Library
These databases are provided to all Ohio residents. You may be asked to enter your zip code and/or your local public library card number before entering.
Library of Congress Online Catalog
Search many different research collections in the U.S. national library, the Library of Congress

Credo Reference Database

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to over 500 highly-regarded, scholarly reference books for all subject areas. Credo Reference also has the tools to find sources for further research and access thousands of images, charts, graphs and more.

Requesting Books

Search Catalogs

What is this searching? The OSU Library Catalog searches for print, electronic and other formats in the OSU Libraries collections. More Search Options >>

What is this searching? The OhioLINK catalog allows searching and requesting of scholarly materials located in the 90+ college and university member libraries around Ohio, plus the State Library of Ohio. More Search Options >>

What is this searching? WorldCat@OSU searches across 7 key databases for books, articles, and more. More Search Options >>

What is this searching? The SearchOhio Catalog allows searching and requesting of popular books, DVDs, CDs and other materials from 20+ public library systems throughout the state of Ohio. More Search Options >>

Call Numbers for Design

The Library of Congress call number system designates that the letter 'N' represent the subject 'art', hence most of the books at the Fine Arts Library have call numbers beginning with N. For design though, you may also be interested in the following call number areas:

H - Social Sciences

HD - Land Use

HE -Transportation

HT - Communities

N - Visual Arts

NA - Architecture

NB - Sculpture

NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration

ND - Painting

NE - Print Media

NK - Decorative Arts

NX - Arts in General

T - Technology

TA - Engineering, Civil Engineering

TH -Building Construction

TR - Photography

TS - Manufactures, Packaging, Industries

TT -Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts

Z -Books, Typography, Libraries