Research Guides: CIVILEN 7350: Getting Started

Getting Started

Head of Geology Library & Map Room
Mathematical Sciences Librarian
Science Education Specialist

Danny Dotson

Email Me

Contact:

180E Geology Library
Orton Hall

614-688-0053

Subjects: Computer Science, Earth Science (Geology), Engineering, Geography, Math & Statistics

Journal Articles

Scopus This link opens in a new window
The key database to use for engineering content. Covers most topics and useful for citation searching.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar covers a wide range of topics.

Use the above link to you can make sure Google Scholar works best for you on or off campus. In order to better use it, connect it to OSU by going to Settings > Library links (on left) and then search for Ohio State. Check the option The Ohio State University Libraries - Find It @ OSU.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
If your topic has earth sciences implications, such as related to geotechnical issues, earthquakes, etc., this database may be helpful.
Web of Science (All Databases search) This link opens in a new window
Covers most subjects and also useful for citation searching.

Find Books

Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) [Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of thousands of ebooks, most in engineering and science
Knovel Library [Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of engineering e-books.

Manual of Concrete Practice

The Manual of Concrete Practice

WHERE:

It is on public computers in the Geology Library (Orton Hall). Take the stairs to the second floor of the library, turn right, follow the balcony until you reach a door with a downward ramp. Go through the door, down the ramp, turn right, and then take the first left you can - you will see two computers. Use the one with the LARGE monitor.

HOW TO USE:

Go to the start menu and look for ACI or search for MCP.
Search for terms and find relevant items OR browse using the table of contents.
Clicking on a specific item will give you a PDF.
Do not close the entire MCP when done with a specific PDF if you want to view more - go back to search results or Table of Contents for more items are needed.