Return to Government Documents and Information Home
While the primary focus is on Franklin County, there are links for the 87 other counties in Ohio, and the county or equivalent level resources for other states. For example in Alaska the county equivalent is a borough, and in Louisiana it is the parish.
Counties. (State of Ohio Web site) Contains information on County Auditors, Sheriffs, Recorders, Treasurers, County Maps, County Profiles, Official websites, etc.
Counties. (National Association of Counties) Has interactive county data, including links to county officials and departments, zip code information, etc.
Ohio County Profiles. (Ohio Department of Job and Family Services) Snapshot of key economic indicators including selected demographics, employment, etc.
County Trends. (Ohio Department of Development. Office of Research) County profiles including information on land use, taxes, list of largest municipalities and employers, population projections and estimates, demographics, poverty and income levels, etc.
Franklin County. Franklin County's Official website.
Official Roster of Ohio Officers. (Ohio Secretary of State) Roster of officeholders and stall of all levels of government in the state. Includes judges and Boards of Trustees for universities and colleges in the state.
Ohio Counties. Select the county of interest from the map. Contains information on County Auditors, Sheriffs, Recorders, Treasurers, Court records, etc. Information available varies by county.
Ohio County Elected Officials Associations. (County Commissioners’ Association of Ohio) Links to various to elected officials by office and county.
Ohio HomeTown Locator. Gazetteer listing municipalities, zip codes, census data, and physical, historical, etc. features for Ohio’s 88 counties.
Quick Facts. (United States Census Bureau) Statistics for counties, etc.
State and Local Government on the Net (Ohio). Select the county of interest.
Census of Government: Individual State Descriptions. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Taken every 5 years. Provides for each state information on how they are organized on a state and local level. 2002 2007 2012 2017
Counties. (National Association of Counties) Has interactive county data, including links to county officials and departments, zip code information, etc.
Counties USA: A Directory of United States Counties. Detroit, Michigan: Omnigraphics, Inc., 1997 -. Provides statistical, descriptive, and contact information for the more 3,100 counties and equivalents in the United States.
Find Contact Information for Government Offices in Your Area. (CountyOfice.org) Find local government offices in a specific state, county or city.
National Association of Counties. Contains information on policy issues, selected statistical data, interactive county finder map, etc.
Quick Facts. (United States Census Bureau) Statistics for counties, etc.
State and Local Government on the Net (Other States). Select State, then county, etc.
The American County: Frontiers of Knowledge. Donald C. Menzel. Tuscaloosa, Alabama: University of Alabama Press, 1996. Overview of the issues facing counties, and attempt to understand the how counties operate, etc. Also available as an e-book.
A Practitioner's Guide to Information Sources and the Literature on County Government: An Annotated Bibliography. 1 st Edition. Cortus T. Koehler. Sacramento, California: County Supervisors Association of California, 1983.
Your Guide to Franklin County Government. Franklin County Board of Commissioners. Columbus, Ohio: The Commissioners, 1995.
© The Ohio State University - University Libraries
1858 Neil Avenue Mall, Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-OSUL (6785) | Fax: (614) 292-9101
Request an alternate format of this page | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
For all other requests, click Ask Us.