The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Hot Topics

Consumer-oriented and general interest web sites.

This page contains topics beginning with A- L.  For topics starting with M - Z, see Hot Topics M-Z.  Inclusion of a site below does not mean that OSU Libraries or The Ohio State University endorse the sites or the information they contain.

A  B  C  Cr  D  E  F  G  H  Ho  I  J  K  L

 

 

Accessibility 

  • Accessible mobile reading apps. (Library of Congress) Describes APPS for smartphones and other mobile devises that assist those with visual impairments to access books, newspaper, etc.  Some of the APPs listed are free, some must be purchased.          
  • Assistive technology products for information access. (Library of Congress) List of products designed to assist people with visual or physical disabilities in accessing printed information.  Lists vendors and limited information on pricing.  List is not comprehensive, but rather a sampling of technologies available.  
  • Braille Displays and Notetakers.  (Library of Congress) Reference guide discusses devices used to access and represent information in braille and provides a list of available models, organized by manufacturer. It also lists dealers and a selection of articles on the subject.  
  • General Resources on Disabilities.  (Library of Congress) Lists various resources available to people with disabilities, such as senior citizens, workers with disabilities, etc.  Also contains information on mobile reading apps for devices, etc. to make life easier. 
  • Information and Assistance Organizations.  (Library of Congress).  Lists consumer organizations that provide direct services to the blind and visually impaired.  
  • Video Gaming Accessibility.  (Library of Congress) List of selected resources pertaining to making video games accessible to people with disabilities.  
  • See also Disabilities

 

Acronyms

  • GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: Home.  (University of California –San Diego Library)  Libguide with the most current, extensive and fully linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publications acronyms. 

 

Active Shooter

 

Adoption

 

Area/Country Codes (Telephones)

Top

 

 

Bed Bugs – See Pest Control

 

Birth Certificates, obtaining copies – See Vital Statistics 

 

Bullying

  • Bullying.  (National Crime Prevention Council)
  • Cyberbullying.  (National Crime Prevention Council)
  • The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN).  Funded by the Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, and jointly coordinated by UCLA and Duke University.  Provides information, links, etc. intended for parents, professionals and teachers, and other interested parties.  Coverage includes trauma resulting from substance abuse, natural disasters, physical violence and abuse, sexual abuse, school violence including bullying, etc.  
  • Stopbullying.gov.  (U.S. Department of Health and Human Resources) Mixture of video clips, games, contacts information, information on cyberbullying and related topics including state laws and policies on bullying.  Has a section aimed at children. 
  • Workplace Bullying:  What Everyone Needs to Know.  (State of Washington, Department of Labor and Industries)

Top

 

 Child Safety

  • See – Bullying
  • See – Computer Safety/Security
  • See – Cyber Crimes
  • See – Human Trafficking
  • See – Privacy
  • See – Safety

 

CHIPS (Children's Health Insurance Program) – See Insurance

 

Citizenship

  • Citizenship, obtaining Canada
  • Citzenship, obtaining Mexico
  • Citizenship, obtaining U.S. - See Immigration and Naturalization Service

 

Computer Safety/Security

  • Consumer Information – Kids and Computer Security.  (Federal Trade Commission)  Geared towards parents covers various computer security issues involving children. 
  • Cybersecurity for Ohio State.  (The Ohio State University) University policies and issues relating to university technology use.  
  • DMA (Direct Marketing Association) Consumer Guides.   Information on various consumer topics such as internet safety, identity theft, links for opting out of unwanted emails and direct mailings from DMA members, links to credit  bureaus and federal agencies, etc.
  • Doxing.  What is it? How to Dox? How to Protect Yourself from Doxing?  (Protectimus. Anna.) Explanation of what it is, ways to protect against it, etc.
  • Doxxing:  What is it & Should You be Worried?  (HTML.COM) Explanation of the term, and its impact.    
  • Facts for Consumers:  Site seeing on the Internet.  (Federal Trade Commission)  Set up like a travel guide, site offers information on privacy issue, computer safety issues, definitions of terms, child safety issues, etc.
  • FTC Consumer Alert:  Spyware.  (Federal Trade Commission, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Office of Consumer and Business Education)
  • Heads Up:  Stop Think Connect.  (OnGuard Online.gov)
  • Hot Topics:  Cyber Security:  Extending Your Research.  (The University of Maine. Raymond F. Fogler Library) Resource guide with suggested reading, databases, links to government web sites and more on the topic of cybersecurity.  
  • Online Privacy in Under 1 Hour:  Improve Your Security Fast.  (Heimdal. Andra Zaharia)  A list of 11 steps to improve your computer security and online privacy.  
  • Securing Your Web Browser.  (Department of Homeland Security, US-CERT) 
  • Securing Your Wireless Network.  (OnGuardOnline.gov)
  • Stop Think Connect:  Resources.  (Department of Homeland Security/National Cyber Security Alliance)  Links to videos, websites, etc. on cybersecurity topic such as smart phone security, identity theft, file sharing, social networking, etc. 
  • Understanding Mobile Apps.  (OnGuardOnline.gov)
  • Wired Safety.  (WiredSafety.org)  Information assorted computer and online safety issues including cyberbullying, cybercrime, cyberstalking, sexting, etc.  Have sections on digital safety for kids and teens.  Some resources cited may have a cost involved for usage.
  • See also Bullying
  • See also Cyber Crimes
  • See also Identity Theft
  • See also Phishing
  • See also Safety

 

Consumer Information

  • consumer.gov:  What to Know and Do.  (Federal Trade Commission) Government information for consumers
  • Consumer Information.  (Federal Reserve)  Credit cards, reports, etc.
  • Drug Dangers. (Seeger Weiss LLP)  Information on drug and medical related recalls and safety issues.
  • MyMoney.gov.  (Federal Financial Literacy and Education Commission) Debt management, retirement, mortgages, scams, etc.  Information for children and Teachers in the form of games, lesson plans, curricula, etc.
  • National Do Not Call Registry.  To stop telemarketing calls, managed by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).  WWW.DONOTCALL.GOV  or call toll-free, 1-888-382-1222 (TTY 1-866-290-4236)

 

Consumer Protection

 

Copyright

 

Cost-of-Living

Top

 

 Credit – See Money

 

Credit Reports

 

Crime

  • BBB Scam Stopper.  (Council of Better Business Bureaus)  Information on scams occurring in the Central Ohio area.  Allows you to report scams to the BBB.   
  • Cyber Crimes. (Attorney General of Massachusetts) Tips on how to avoid online crimes such as cyber stalking, child enticement and exploitation, etc.
  • Directory of Crime Victim Services.  (U.S. Department of Justice)  Resource for finding nonemergency crime victim service agencies in the United States and abroad.  Searchable by location, type of victimization, service needed, and agency type. 
  • OVC Help Series for Crime Victims.  (U.S. Department of Justice. Office of Justice Programs, Office for Victims of Crime) Series of brochures providing information for victims, etc.  Each brochure defines a type of victimization, gives information on resources available, has some statistics, etc.  Coverage includes child abuse, domestic violence, sexual violence, stalking, and other violent crimes . 
  • SpotCrime.  Columbus, Ohio crime information and alerts, searchable by address, information is somewhat dated.
  • UCrime.  Information on crime on the Ohio State Main Campus, etc.
  • See also Bullying
  • See also Cyber Crimes
  • See also Human Trafficking
  • See also Identity Theft
  • See also Phishing
  • See also Safety
  • See also Sexual Harassment

 

Cyber Crimes

  • 1999 Report on Cyberstalking…  (Department of Justice)
  • Bureau of Justice Statistics Special Report:  Stalking Victimization in the United States.  Katrina Baum, Shannan Catalano, Michael Rand, and Kristina Rose.  January 2009.
  • Cyber Crimes. (Attorney General of Massachusetts) Tips on how to avoid online crimes such as cyber stalking, child enticement and exploitation, etc. 
  • OnGuardOnline.gov – Spam.   (Federal Trade Commission)   Includes link for filing a complaint.  Also available in Spanish.  
  • The New Form of Stalking – Victims.  (Marshal University. Women’s Center)  Video clips on the topic. 
  • Spam.  (The Ohio State University. Office of the Chief Information Officer)  
  • Trolling, Doxing & Cyberstalking:  Cybercrime & the Law.  (Security Affairs) 
  • U.S. Revenge Porn Laws:  50 State Guide (Kelly/Warner Law) Lists state by state laws concerning revenge porn and other harassment and cyberstalking torts.  
  • USA.gov - Spam and E-mails Frauds.  
  • What is Doxing (With Examples) and How do You Avoid It.  (comparitech. Stephen Cooper) 
  • You’ve Got Spam:  How to “Can” Unwanted Email.  Washington, D.C.:  Federal Trade Commission, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Office of Consumer and Business Education, April 2002. 
  • See also Bullying
  • See also Computer Safety/Security
  • See also Identity Theft
  • See also Phishing
  • See also Safety

 

Cyberstalking

  • See – Cyber Crimes

Top

 

 Death Certificates, obtaining copies – See Vital Statistics

 

Disabilities

 

Divorce

 

Driver’s Licenses

Top

 

Ebola – See Health

 

Economics

  • Economic Indicators.  April 1995- current.
  • Economic Report of the President.  1995-past year. 
  • FRASER:  Federal Reserve Archive System for Economic Research.   (St. Louis Federal Reserve.)  Started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to the nation’s economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System—through digitization of documents related to the U.S. economy.  It contains data and policy documents from the Federal Reserve, government data publications and statistical releases, Congressional hearings, etc. 
  • See also Money

 

Education

  • Accountability Resources.  (Ohio Department of Education)  School and District performance reports, issued annually, detailing students’ performance on standardized statewide tests, rates of improvement on those tests, student attendance and graduation rates. 
  • College Navigator.  (IES National Center for Educational Statistics)   Locate colleges and universities based on various criteria. 
  • Ohio Department of Education
  • Ohio School Report Cards.  (Ohio Department of Education)  Provides current and historical information on a specific school or district such as proficiency test results, graduation rates, financial data, and demographics.  Languages other than English available.
  • OhioHigherEd.  Provides links to the Ohio Board of Regents, education programs for students and businesses, tools aimed at students for higher education planning, reports on the state of education in Ohio, etc.  
  • Public School Rankings.  Select state, etc.
  • Testing.  (Ohio Department of Education Testing)  Information about legally mandated testing of Ohio students including Diagnostic Assessments, Ohio Achievement Assessments, Ohio Graduation Tests and proficiency tests
  • U.S. Department of Education
  • See also Financial Aid (for students)

 

Elections – See Voting and Voter Registration

 

Embassies and Consulates

 

Emergency Management, Public Safety, and Terrorism

 

Employment

Top

 

 

FAFSA – See Financial Aid (for students).

 

Finance, Personal

  • See – Credit Reports
  • See – Money

 

Financial Aid (for students)

  • About ED/Contacts – State Contacts.  (U.S. Department of Education.) On a state level information on student loans, grants, etc.  Plus information on other related topics and statistics on a federal level.  
  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance.  The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. 
  • EURO ScholarsResearch abroad program designed to provide students from US and Canadian institutions an international research experience
  • Federal Student Aid.  (U.S. Department of Education)  Contains information on student loans and resources formerly in the Federal Student Aid Gateway.  
  • FinAid!  Free resource for objective and unbiased information, advice and tools about student financial aid.
  • Foundation Center.  The Foundation Center is the world's leading source of information on philanthropy, fundraising, and grant programs.  [Note: The Foundation Center's Database on CD-ROM and other Foundation Center publications are available in the Business and Technology Division of the Columbus Metropolitan Main Library.]  
  • Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
  • GovLoans.gov.  Links to government loan programs. 
  • LSTA (Library Services and Technology Act) Grant Information (Ohio) 
  • State Grants & Scholarships.  (Ohio Department of Higher Education)
  • Student Financial Aid.  (The Ohio State University. Enrollment Services)
  • Student Financial Aid - Scholarships.  (The Ohio State University. Enrollment Services)
  • Student Loans. (Federal Trade Commission) Brochure on spotting deceptive student loans claims or business practices. 

 

Fire Prevention and Safety – See Safety

 

Food and Nutrition

  • Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion.  (U.S. Department of Agriculture)  The USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
  • Food.  (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) Food recall notices, foodborne illness reporting, articles on food safety, and other food related resources.  
  • Food Safety - Food.  (European Union)  Food and feed alerts, labeling and nutrition, agri-food fraud, food waste, and other food related topics. 
  • FoodSafety.gov.  (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services) Gateway to Federal Food Safety Information, including food recalls, food poisoning and other food safety related topics. 
  • See also Health

 

Fraud

  • See – Crime
  • See – Computer Safety/Security
  • See – Cyber Crimes
  • See – Identity Theft
  • See – Privacy Issues

Top

 

 

Grants – See Financial Aid/Grants

Top

 

 

Health

  • Consumer Information – Health & Fitness.  (Federal Trade Commission)  Links to agencies and organizations on various health related topics, including elder care, alternative medicine, medical ID theft, etc.  PDF version available.  Spanish version available. 
  • Ebola (Ebola Virus Disease).  (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)  Includes information on symptoms, transmission, treatment, guidelines for healthcare workers, etc. 
  • Ebola Virus Disease.  (World Health Organization)  Information on transmission, symptoms, diagnosis, and historical background. 
  • Epidemiology, Pathogenesis, and Clinical Manifestations of Ebola and Marburg Virus Disease.  (UpTo Date®) Reprint. Mike Bray.  Technical paper covering Ebola species and related genera Marburg. 
  • FactSheet.  (The Ohio State University Extension)  Search engine for fact sheets covering a wide variety of topics including general health issues for seniors (Senior Series) or specific issues such as Eating Disorders. Type subject of interest such as nutrition in the "Tags" field and hit "Search" to see what Fact Sheets are available on the topic.
  • Hands on Central Ohio:  Online Directory of Human Services.   (HandsOn Central Ohio 2-1-1)   Comprehensive and up-to-date information about social, health and government services including mental health resources, substance abuse and addition resources, lists of community clinics, etc. for Franklin County. 
  • Health Topics.  (World Health Organization)  Alphabetical list of links to health related topics including Hepatitis, Measles, Mumps, etc.
  • HEALTH-EU.  (European Commission)  Gateway to information on public health topics. 
  • Healthfinder.gov.  US government directory of online publications, clearinghouses, databases, web sites, and support and self-help groups, as well as the government agencies and non-profit organizations, etc.
  • Health.gov.  Portal for health related resources and news from the US government. Find prevention topics, dietary and physical activity guidelines, etc.
  • Healthline®  Medical information to encourage healthy living. Enjoy free health tools and view detailed doctor-reviewed information about diseases, medical symptoms, etc.
  • Infections – Measles.  (KidsHealth) Contains information about measles.  Has accommodations for people visually challenged.  Available in Spanish.  
  • Infections – Mumps.  (KidsHealth)  Contains information about Mumps.  Has accommodations for people visually challenged.  Available in Spanish. 
  • Infections – Rubella (German Measles).  (KidsHealth)  Contains information about measles.  Has accommodations for people visually challenged.  Available in Spanish. 
  • Measles:  Questions and Answers:  Information about the disease and vaccines.  Immunization Action Coalition.  Saint Paul, Minnesota:  4p.
  • Media Centre - Zika Virus:  Fact Sheet. (World Health Organization)  Information on the symptoms, transmission, prevention, etc. 
  • MedlinePlus.  (National Institute of Health. National Library of Medicine)  Contains information on medical conditions, diseases, drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, anatomy and surgical videos, interactive tutorials, news on current health issues, etc.  Spanish language version available.
  • Molecular Virology and Microbiology: Ebola Virus.  (Baylor College of Medicine)  Background information on the virus, outbreaks, research, etc. 
  • Mumps.  (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)  Links to various Mumps related topics including vaccination, overview of systems, outbreaks, etc.  Has a section geared towards children.  Available in Spanish. 
  • Mumps:  Questions and Answers:  Information about the disease and vaccines.  Immunization Action Coalition.  Saint Paul, Minnesota:  4p.
  • National Cancer Institute.  (Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health) Principal agency for cancer research and training.  Website contains information on common cancer types, treatments, cancer screening and testing, smoking and smoking cessation assistance, etc.  Available also in Spanish. 
  • The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN).  Funded by the Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, and jointly coordinated by UCLA and Duke University.  Provides information, links, etc. intended for parents, professionals and teachers, and other interested parties.  Coverage includes trauma resulting from substance abuse, natural disasters, physical violence and abuse, sexual abuse, human trafficking, school violence including bullying, etc.  Some of the resources are in Spanish.
  • National Institutes of Health.  National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM).  National Institutes of Health website, exploring complementary and alternative healing practices.
  • National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) Information Clearinghouse. (Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health)  Supports and conducts research on hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language issues.  Provides information on these topics to the public.  Available also in Spanish. 
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse.  Information on drug abuse and addiction issues.  Separate sections geared towards researchers, parents, teachers, teens and young adults.  Includes blogs, videos, downloadable posters, treatment center locator, funding opportunities, research reports, etc.  Has a Spanish option.
  • National Network for Immunization Information.  Provides factual and up-to-date information relating to immunization.  Includes sections on state’s regulations, articles on immunization issues, synopsis of scientific studies on immunization related topics, etc.   Searchable by disease/vaccine including Mumps, Flu, Lyme Disease, Measles, and Hepatitis.  Intended audience:   the general public, health professionals, policy makers and media.  Available also in Spanish. 
  • National Women's Health Information Center.  Provides a gateway to the vast array of Federal and other women's health information resources, including information on breast cancer, fitness and nutrition, pregnancy, human trafficking, and other topics of interest to women.
  • Ohio Department of Health.  Information on various health and infectious disease issues such as Ebola, Hepatitis, Measles, Mumps, West Nile, etc. 
  • Short Answers to Hard Questions About Zika Virus. (New York Times. Donald G. McNeil, Jr.; Catherine Saint Louis and Nicholas St. Fleur)   Last updated January 29, 2016.  Good over all coverage of the topic, including maps of infected areas, and short answers to questions about the impact of the virus, etc. 
  • TeenHealth.  (Nemours Center for Children’s Health Media)  Provides up-to-date health information for parents and teens, including information on Hepatitis.  Spanish version available.
  • Treatment Options.  (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality) List of health related  topics including diabetes, heart conditions, mental health, men's and women's health issues.  Most of the PDFs are available in Spanish also.
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
  • WebMD.  Source for trustworthy and timely health and medical news and information including measles and mumps.
  • West Nile Virus.  (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)  Fact Sheet, etc.  
  • Who Cares:  Sources of Information about Health Care Products and Services.  Washington, D.C:   Federal Trade Commission, 2008.  Information and links to agencies and organizations on various health related topics, including elder care, alternative medicine, medical ID theft, etc. [English]  [Spanish]
  • Zika Virus - Know Before You Go :  Zika Virus Information.  on Campus. Columbus, Ohio:  The Ohio State University, Monday February 29, 2016. 
  • Zika Virus. (Center for Disease Control and Prevention)  Includes maps of impacted areas, sections for doctors, pregnant women, and general facts on the transmission and symptoms, etc. 
  • Zika Virus. (Ohio Department of Health)  General overview of the disease with Ohio specific deals. 
  • Zoonotic Disease Program.  (Ohio Department of Health)   Links to various zoonotic diseases including Dengue, Lyme Disease, Rabies, West Nile Virus. 
  • See also Food and Nutrition

 

Hepatitis – See Health

Top

 

Homeland Security – See Emergency Management, Public Safety, and Terrorism

 

Human Trafficking

  • Child Protection Issues:  Child Trafficking.  (UNICEF) Overview of the problem on an international level, with links to publications, videos, etc. on the various aspects of the topic of children at risk including human trafficking.  
  • Child Welfare Information Gateway - Human Trafficking.  (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Children’s Bureau) Links to resources emphasis on children.  
  • Domestic Trafficking Hotlines.  (U.S. Department of State)  Contact numbers and links to report, get help, and learn more about human trafficking.
  • Fact Sheets from the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons.  (U.S. Department of State)  List of documents on human trafficking/slavery from 2009-current. 
  • Human Trafficking.  (National Institute of Justice)  Overview of the topic and how it differs from Human smuggling.  Includes citations and links to other resources. 
  • Human Trafficking.  (UNODC – United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime) 
  • Human Trafficking. (U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Center for Faith Based and Neighborhood Partnerships).  Fact sheet with links to federal websites on the topic, etc. 
  • Human Trafficking of Children in the United States.  (U.S. Department of Education. Office of Safe and Healthy Students) 
  • Human Trafficking Resources.  (The Ohio State University – Moritz College of Law Library) Listing of books, e-books, videos, and libguides on the topic of human trafficking available through the Moritz Law Library. 
  • Human Trafficking Task Force.  (The State of Ohio)   Information on human trafficking, laws, assistance available on a county level, etc. 
  • Look Beneath the Surface – Identifying Victims of Human Trafficking in the U.S.  (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Office of Refugee Resettlement)  Information on human traffic in general and specific warning signs to help identify and assist victims.  Webvideo.  Available in both English and Spanish.   
  • What is Human Trafficking?  (State of California, Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General)  Defines human trafficking and its various forms with links to further information on each. 
  • See also Safety

Top

 

 

 Identification Card (Ohio) – See Driver’s Licenses

 

Identity Theft 

 

Immigration and Naturalization Services

  • Consumer Information:  Scams Against Immigrants.  (Federal Trade Commission)  [English]  [Spanish]
  • Consumer Information:  Immigration Help.  (Federal Trade Commission)   [English]   [Spanish]
  • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)  For study guides and sample questions, select "Citizenship," then either "Naturalization Test.” or “Citizenship Resource Center” under the heading of The Naturalization Test.
  • See also Citizenship
  • See also Embassies and Consulates

 

Insurance

  • HealthCare.gov.  (U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)  Gate way to signing up for health care coverage for individuals and small businesses.  Also available in Spanish. 
  • Insurance.  (U.S. Small Business Administration)  Information on insurance needs of a small business.
  • Medicaid/CHIP.  (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)  The Official U.S. Government Site for the latest information on Medicaid and CHIP (Children's Health Insurance Program) enrollment, benefits, and other helpful tools.
  • Medicare
  • Medicare.  (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)  The Official U.S. Government Site for the latest information on Medicare enrollment, benefits, and other helpful tools.
  • The National Flood Insurance Program.  (U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA)
  • Ohio Department of Insurance.
  • Personal Insurance.  (About.com)  General information on various types of personal insurance, insurance fraud, etc.

 

Intellectual Property

 

Investing – See Money

 

Continued Hot Topics M-Z

Top