The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Census of Population and Housing

2010 Census

Contents


Introduction

The twenty third Decennial Census undertaken in 2010 is the most recent. The data derived from it is available in American FactFinder2, and to very limited extent as hard copy. 

The 2010 Census used only the short form questionnaire.  There were only ten questionsasked.  Detailed statistical information previously collected by the long form was and is being gathered through the American Community Survey

The resources listed below can help in locating current census data.  Please check the OSU Libraries’ catalog for location and availability where necessary.

Top


Interactive Databases

American FactFinder2. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Tables, thematic maps, and reference maps.

CensusScope. (University of Michigan. Social Science Data Analysis Network – SSDAN)

Tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends with maps, charts, etc.

DataFerrett. (United States. Census Bureau)

Allows customized data searching, development of customized spreadsheets based current decennial data.

Data-Plant Statistical Datasets. (Conquest Systems, Inc.)

Provides access to statistical information from federal agencies, etc. Coverage varies with statistical source. Census data from 1970's on.  Also called Proquest Statistical Datasets, Lexis-Nexis Statistical Datasets, or Statistical Datasets. [Access restricted to OSU Affiliates]

GeoLytics. East Brunswick, New Jersey: GeoLytics, Inc., 2005-.

Census information 1970-2010.  Normalized data available. [Available by appointment only, ID required, Contact Microforms and Government Information, or Map Room staff to set up an appointment.]

Missouri Census Data Center.

Census data from 1990-2010,  including quick links to ACS data for the United States and by state.  Some parts are still under construction.

NHGIS - National Historical Geographic Information System.  (University of Minnesota, Minnesota Population Center)

Provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012.

ProQuest Statistical Insight.  Bethesda, Maryland:  Congressional Information Service, <February 7, 2011->: [Ann Arbor, Michigan]:  ProQuest.

Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.   [Access restricted to OhioLINK members]

Social Explorer.  Bronxville, New York:  Social Explorer.  

Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.

Statistics and Data Sets: Population and Housing

Data Sets section provides links to sites maintaining files that can be downloaded for local manipulation.

United States Census 2010:  It’s in our Hands. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census.)

Limited searching of the 2010 Decennial Census, and links to resources related to that census.

US2010.  (Brown University, Spatial Structures in the Social Sciences)

Contains statistical data drawn from the census, ACS, and other statistical resources, maps based on census data, bridging tract data 1970-2010.  Limited customization possible.

Top


Geographical Resources

Geography – Reference Maps.  (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Maps available for selected years by preselected topics.  Limited customization possible.

Geography – Relationship Files. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

These text files describe geographic relationships. There are two types of relationship files; those that show the relationship between the same type of geography over time (comparability) and those that show the relationship between two types of geography for the same time period.

Maps & Data.  (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)  

Links to assorted geographic data and maps, such as thermatic maps, census geocoder, Census Data Mapper, TIGER/Line, KMLs, TIGERweb, LandView, etc. available from the U.S. Census Bureau. 

Top


Web Resources

2010 Census Briefs. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Briefs provide overviews of selected topics, etc.

Census 2010.  (USA Today)

Latest decennial census information by state, etc.

Current Population Reports. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Series and subject indexes to the Current Population Reports. Includes links to online versions of reports when available.

Data Tools and Apps. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Links to census related databases, etc.  Titles released after June 23, 2014 are available from Publications.

GPO Monthly Catalog

Locate census materials distributed to depository libraries since 1976. [Access restricted to OhioLINK members]

National Archives and Records Administration.  

[Resources by year, 1790-current]   [Searchable 1940 Census]

Census resources such as indexes and search aids for all the censuses (1790 - current).

People and Households - Data by Subject. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Links to tables arranged by topic areas.

Publications:  Census of Population and Housing. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Electronic versions of the Decennial Census 1790-current).  Information by census, then state, etc.

Publications by Topics. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Data publications from the Census Bureau by topic and arranged by year.

Reports/Research – Census 2010. (Ohio. Development Services Agency)

Limited demographic information from the 2010 census specific to Ohio.

Statistics in the School - Data Access Tools.  (United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census)

Links to resources for accessing census data, maps, and related materials from 1754 to the present.

Subjects A- Z. (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

An alphabetical listing of subjects with links to various censuses.

Top


Census Derived Resources

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, D.C.:  G.P.O., 1878- incomplete.  [Note as of October 2011, the Bureau of Census stopped publishing this title.  ProQuesttook over publication.]

Online:  Current Issue  | Archived

Annual. Data drawn from a variety of sources including the Censuses of Population and Housing. Most tables are national, some state and metropolitan area tables. 

Top


Other Resources

American Statistics Index. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Information Service.

A comprehensive guide and index to the statistical publications of the U.S. Government contained on microfiche. Have fiche from 1974-2009.  Continued by ProQuest Statistical Insight.

Research Databases List Arranged by Subject: Newspapers. (The Ohio State University. The Ohio State University Libraries)

 

A list with links to of various newspaper indexes and databases that OSUL subscribes to.

State Data Center Network.  (United States Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

The SDC lead agencies organize a statewide network of coordinating and affiliate agencies. This network works in partnership with the Census Bureau through the Customer Liaison and Marketing Services Office (CLMSO) and the Census Bureau's 6 Regional Offices for data dissemination at the very local level.

 USA.gov.

Links to the official website of each state, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, etc. 

Top


Further Reading

2010 Census Demographic Profile Summary File:  Technical Document. (U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Provides detailed information about the demographic profiles based upon the Summary File 1 dataset.

2010 Census Questionnaire Reference Book.  (U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Covers who to count, owning and renting housing units, sex, household relationships, age, race and Hispanic origin

The 2010 Decennial Census:  Background and Issues.  Jennifer D. Williams.  Washington, D.C.:  Congressional Research Service, February 3, 2011.

Describes relationships between the decennial census and the American Community Survey, statistical accuracy and coverage, confidentiality, and automation.

How We Count America:  The Census Numbers Tell Us Who We are and What We Need. (U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census)

Summarizes how the census counts special populations.  

Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin:  2010. Karen R. Humes, Nicholas A. Jones and Roberto R. Ramirez.  Washington, D.C.:  U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census, March 2011. 

Top