Biographical Information (Music & Dance Resources)

American and Contemporary Composers

American composers

• The New Grove dictionary of American music. ML101 U6 N48 1986
• ASCAP biographical dictionary. ML106 U3 A5 1980
• Who's Who in American music: classical. ML106 U3 W6 1985
• Contemporary American composers : a biographical dictionary. ML390 A54 1982

Contemporary composers

• Contemporary composers. ML105 C76 1992. Very complete entries include biographies, works lists, and bibliographies.
• Nishimura, Mari. The twentieth-Century composer speaks : an index of interviews. ML118 N57 1993 Indexes over 1,000 interviews in journals, books, and other sources. Gives name and dates for each composer.
• International Who's Who in music and musicians' directory. ML105 W6192
• Composers since 1900 : a biographical and critical guide. ML390 E942 C6
• Index to biographies of contemporary composers. ML105 B8 I5
• Bio-bibliographical dictionary of twelve-tone and serial composers. ML105 C39 B5
• Latin American classical composers : a biographical dictionary. ML105 .F53 2002
• Film composers directory. ML19 .F55
• Guide to Canadian composers. ML21 .N25 1976
• Composers on composers. ML90 .H64 1990
• Dictionary of church composers in Great Britain and Ireland. ML102.C5 H86 1997
• Soundtracks : International dictionary of film composers. ML102.M68 C73 1998
• Encyclopedia of violin-keyboard sonatas and composer biographies. ML102.V4 P4 1995
• Composers on record : index to biographical information on 14,000 composers whose music has been recorded. ML105 .G78 1985
• World biographical index of music : composers, conductors, instrumentalists, singers. ML105 .I63 1995
• Irish composers : 2001-2002. ML106.I73 I75 2001
• Biographical dictionary of Russian/Soviet composers. ML106.R8 B56 1989
• Russian composers and musicians, a biographical dictionary. ML106.R8 V8
• Index to composer bibliographies. ML113 .G793 1985
• Dictionary-catalog of modern British composers. ML120.G7 P68 2000
• Bibliography of art music by Israeli composers. ML120.I75 T57 1988

See also 

• ClassicalNet composer index
• Classical Music Reference Library — includes Baker's Biographical Dictionary