The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Mobile Apps

Icon Key

generic phone icon iPhone icon App for Android
works with most smart phones
app for iPhone and iPad
app for Android

ACM Digital Library

ACM Digital Library Logo

Android IconIphone IconThe ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library now makes an app available for Google Play and iOS (iPhone only).  The app allows you to read journal articles and conference papers on all aspects of computing and networked systems. 

To access the ACM Digital Library form your mobile device:

  1. Navigate to the full ACM Digital Library website.
  2. Create a personal account on the ACM website
  3. Install the ACM DL app onto your device: Google Play or iOS .
  4. Sign in to the ACM DL app with your ACM Web Account.

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews Mobileworks with most smartphonesThe Annual Reviews Mobile website provides access to articles from four dozen research reviews. After an authentication process, you will be able to read articles from the Libraries' subscribed titles.

To access full-text articles from journals that have been licensed by the UofA, simply visit http://www.annualreviews.org from your mobile device while connected to the UA wireless networks.  Your mobile device will be automatically paired with the UofA's subscriptions. The pairing will then enable you to access content while offsite for six months.  To renew your access, visit the Annual review web site again from the UA wireless network.

More about Annual Reviews mobile access.

ASCE Mobile

ASCE Mobile works with most smart phonesJounals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)  are now available in a format  optimized for mobile devices. 

The ASCE site will automatically detect your mobile device and redirect you to the new interface.

You must be connected to the OSU wireless network to access subscribed content.

View a list of ASCE journals and conference proceedings that the Libraries subscribe to.

 

 

JSTOR Mobile

JSTOR Logoworlks with most smartphonesJSTOR has released an updated interface that automatically formats content optimized for mobile devices. 

 

 

To access library content from your mobile device, you have several options:

  1. Authenticate with your name.# and password by using our off campus link
  2. Set up an individual JSTOR account from a computer signed into the campus network.
  3. Choose "Get Access" from the top menu bar and then "Login via Institution." 
    1. Look for The Ohio State University
    2. You will be prompted for your name.# and password. 

PubMed Mobile

PubMed Handhelds Logo

works with most smart phonesPubMed Mobile offers a simplified interface to the National Library of Medicine database of millions of article citations and abstracts from thousands of biomedical journals.

PubMed Handheld allows you to search PubMed as well as askMEDLINE, a consumer health reference source, and the PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) database.

You can browse the full suite of mobile sites from the National Library of Medicine at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mobile/.

PubReader

PubMed central Logo

works with most smart phonesPubReader is a new service from PubMed Central / National Library of Medicine that simplifies article reading for tablets and other handheld devices. 

The simplified PubReader view is available for any article that is available in full-text HTML form in PubMed Central (PMC).  PubReader is not available for older articles that are only in PDF format. 

PubReader works in most browsers.  Just click the PubReader link from the article citation view or the formats view.

PubReader link example PubReader link example

 

 

 

 

 

SpringerLink Mobile

app for iPhoneSpringer LogoSpringer has launched the SpringerLink mobile app for iOS.  

In addition to providing access to journals and book series subscribed to by the University Libraries, this app offers save and share functions, personalized notifications, and advanced searching.  When viewing a citation to subscribed or free content, users have the option to view the HTML or PDF version of the article in the Safari browser. 

To access our subscribed content, you will need to be connected to the campus wireless network.

 

Web of Science

Web of Knowledge Mobile

 

works with most smart phonesThe Web of Science platform citation databases has now become a mobile-optimized site. There is no longer a separate mobile version. 

To use Web of Science on your mobile device, you may find it easier to create a personal account .

 
  1. Go to the Web of Science database while connected to OSU wireless
  2. Click Sign In along the top navigation
  3. Click Register to create a new account You will be asked to enter your email address to verify that an account does not already exist for you.
  4. If an account does not already exist, you will be prompted to fill in the User Registration page.
  5. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
  6. You are required to log in to Web of Science  from an IP authenticated computer or device every six months to verify you are an authorized user.

Read by QxMD

Read app Icon

Android Icon

Iphone Icon
 

 

 

 

 

 

Read by QxMD' provides an app that works with both iOS and Android as well as a desktop site, acting as a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. 

Read's simple interface drives discovery and seamless access to the medical literature by reformatting it into a personalized digital journal. 

 

  • Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice
  • One tap access to full text
  • Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
  • Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
  • Access full text through your university/institutional subscription or via open access publishers
  • Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
  • Organize, review & publish your personal article collections

More Ways to Ask Questions

Call us: 614-292-OSUL (6785)
Chat with us
    Send question by email
    Browse FAQ
    Recommend a purchase
     Contact a subject librarian

Full Research Database List

Full list of University Libraries' database subscriptions.
Go to Research Databases List