Research Guides: ARTEDUC 2600: Visual Culture: Investigating Diversity &amp; Social Justice: Databases & Websites

Databases for Social Issues

Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Newspaper Source [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times (for a total of 194 full text newspapers and other sources).
Opposing viewpoints in context (Columbus Access) This link opens in a new window
Essays, overviews, primary source documents, biographies, periodical articles, tables, maps, images & podcasts covering today's social issues.
SocINDEX with Full Text [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology. Includes content from the EBSCO Sociological Collection database.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to journals on all aspects of social work, including homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, and substance abuse. Abstracts are available. Access is also available to the NASW Clinical Register.

A Couple of Helpful Websites

Art x Culture x Social Justice Network
From website: This network is based on the power of art and culture to advance social justice by inspiring collective action across identities, issues, sectors, geographies, and power imbalances. The network is unique in bringing together artists, activists, cultural bearers, and philanthropists.
Art and Social Justice: PBS Learning Media
A series of short videos identifying artists whose work deals with issues of social justice.

Databases for Art

Art & Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. This database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984 (H.W. Wilson) offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Business Source Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
This is one of the best databases to search for scholarly literature on business research topics. The database contains indexing and abstracts for scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals back from 1886 to the present. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

The Beehive Collective is a activist art collective made up of volunteers who create highly intricate images related to issues of injustice throughout the world. This is just one way in which artists have brought together visual culture (large scale illustrations) and conveyed what they see as unjust to spread the word and help turn the baggage of oppression into something else.

Beehive Collective, Plan Colombia Poster, The Beehive Collective's second graphic campaign in their triology on globalization in the Western Hemisphere. Source: Wikipedia. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License.

Ohio State nav bar

ARTEDUC 2600: Visual Culture: Investigating Diversity & Social Justice

Databases for Social Issues

A Couple of Helpful Websites

Databases for Art