Links to Selected Topics A - E
This page contains topics beginning with A - E. For topics starting with F - M see Hot Topics F-M. For topics starting N - Z see Hot Topics N-Z. Inclusion of a site below does not mean that OSU Libraries or The Ohio State University endorse the sites or the information they contain.
A B C Cr D E
Accessibility
- Accessible mobile reading apps. (Library of Congress) Describes APPS for smartphones and other mobile devises that assist those with visual impairments to access books, newspaper, etc. Some of the APPs listed are free, some must be purchased.
- Assistive technology products for information access. (Library of Congress) List of products designed to assist people with visual or physical disabilities in accessing printed information. Lists vendors and limited information on pricing. List is not comprehensive, but rather a sampling of technologies available.
- General Resources on Disabilities. (Library of Congress) Lists various resources available to people with disabilities, such as senior citizens, workers with disabilities, etc. Also contains information on mobile reading apps for devices, etc. to make life easier.
- Hearing Loss Association of America. (HLAA) Provides information on the topic of hearing loss, technologies available to assist with combating hearing loss, etc.
- Information and Assistance Organizations. (Library of Congress) Lists consumer organizations that provide direct services to the blind and visually impaired.
- Internet Accessibility Guide: Improve Internet Accessibility for Individuals with Impaired Vision. (myvision.org) Tip, tricks and recommendations for making web-based content more accessible for individuals with impaired vision.
- NLS Reference Guide - Braille and Audio Reading Download (BARD). (Library of Congress. National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped) Web-based service containing Braille, audio, etc. books and magazines. There are mobile versions also available.
- Master's Resources for Students with Hearing Disabilities. (Online Master's Degrees, Sonja Ann Jones, May 12, 2022) The section on resources for students with hearing disabilities is especially helpful.
- Video Gaming Accessibility. (Library of Congress) List of selected resources pertaining to making video games accessible to people with disabilities.
- Yellow Pages for Kids with Disabilities. (Wrightslaw) Listings of educational consultants, medical and care professionals, government programs, organizations and support groups, etc. Searchable by state, and zip code.
- See also Disabilities
Acronyms
- FEMA Acronyms, Abbreviations, and Terms: A Capability Assurance Job and Field Aid. Washington, D.C.: FEMA, July 2023. Alphabetic list of emergency management acronyms, abbreviations, etc.
- GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: Home. (University of California –San Diego Library) Libguide with the most current, extensive and fully linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publications acronyms.
Active Shooter
Adoption
Area/Country Codes (Telephones)
- Country Codes. (CountryCode.org) Alphabetic list by country of international area codes.
- List of US Area Codes by State: Area Code Lookup. (WireFly) Alphabetic list of States and area codes associated with them. Specific area codes also include information on active number prefixes and zip codes associated with the area code. Plus information on TV, internet, home security, etc. providers.
- Phone and Area Code Search. (AllAreaCodes.com) Maps of area codes for the continental U.S and Canada, listings by states, and selected cities by area code. While searching for a specific phone number is available, it costs and requires email address, etc.
Top
Bed Bugs – See Pest Control
Birth Certificates, obtaining copies – See Vital Statistics
Book Banning – See Censorship
Bullying
- The Anti-Bullying Guidebook: How to Recognize, Prevent, and Stop Bullying in School, at Work and Online. (Steps – Student Training & Education in Public Service) Aimed at college students, this resource provides information on various forms of bullying, how to recognize it, how to prevent and address it, etc.
- Anti-Harassment, Intimidation and Bullying Resources. (Ohio Department of Education) Presents a few of the many resources available to help address the issues of harassment, intimidation and bullying.
- Bullying. (National Crime Prevention Council)
- Bullying in the Workplace: Background and a Call to Action. (Michigan State University, WorkLife Office. Barbara Roberts, Hudson Bennett, and John Girdwood. March 2020)
- Cyberbullying. (National Crime Prevention Council)
- Cyberbullying and Suicide Among Youth – Guide. (Drug Rehab USA. Andrew McKenna) Geared towards parents has statistics about bullying/cyberbullying, information on the link between bullying and mental health issues, warning signs that bullying is occurring, and links to additional resources.
- The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN). Funded by the Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, and jointly coordinated by UCLA and Duke University. Provides information, links, etc. intended for parents, professionals and teachers, and other interested parties. Coverage includes trauma resulting from substance abuse, natural disasters, physical violence and abuse, sexual abuse, school violence including bullying, etc.
- Preventing Bullying. Atlanta, Georgia: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Division of Violence Prevention, 2018.
- Stopbullying.gov. (U.S. Department of Health and Human Resources) Mixture of video clips, games, contacts information, information on cyberbullying and related topics including state laws and policies on bullying. Has a section aimed at children.
Top
Death Certificates, obtaining copies – See Vital Statistics
Disabilities
- Adapting to PhD Studies: Tailored Resources for Students with Disabilities. (phds.me. Bernard Grant) Resource guide to assist students with disabilities pursue a PhD.
- The Americans with Disabilities Act: Questions and Answers. (U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. U.S. Department of Justice. Civil Rights Division.) List of Federal agencies and organizations with federal funding that are sources for obtaining information about the law's requirements and informal guidance in understanding and complying with the ADA.
- European Disability Forum
- Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities. (Ohio Department of Development) Links to resources for people with developmental disabilities and their families, etc. Includes links for reporting abuse, an abuser registry, reporting fraud, and service provider searching.
- Program Areas. (U.S. Department of Labor. Office of Disability Employment Policy) Federal government resources.
- Yellow Pages for Kids with Disabilities. (Wrightslaw) Listings of educational consultants, medical and care professionals, government programs, organizations and support groups, etc. Searchable by state, and zip code.
- See also Accessibility
Diversity (DEIA)
- "Aligning Student Affairs Practice with Espoused Commitments to Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion.” Crystal E. Garcia, William Walker, Dawn Organ, and Yuewei Shi. Journal of College Student Development. March-April 2021, v.62(no.2): p.137-153. [EJ1298104] Examined ways student affairs professionals at predominantly white institutions within the South made sense of and enacted commitments to equity, diversity, and inclusion.
- "Crossing the Boundaries of Employee Engagement and Workplace Diversity and Inclusion: Moving HRD Forward in a Complicated Sociopolitical Climate”. Stephanie Pleasant. New Horizons in Adult Education & Human Resource Development. Summer 2017, v.29(no.3): p. 38-44. [EJ1151665] Explores the intersection of employee engagement and workplace diversity.
- Current Status and Future Trends of Diversity Initiatives in the Workplace: Diversity Experts’ Perspectives. Diversity in the Workforce Report #2. Rose Mary Wentling and Nilda Palma-Rivas. Berkeley, California: National Center for Research in Vocational Education, University of California at Berkeley/ Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, Educational Resources Information Center, November 1997. [ED414474] Interviews with exports in the field about their perception of organizational and individual barriers to the advancement of diverse groups in the work place.
- "Delving into Institutional Diversity Messaging: A Cross-Institutional Analysis of Student and Faculty Interpretations of Undergraduate Experiences of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in University Websites”. Joanna Rankin; Andrew J. Pearl; Trina Jorre de St Jorre; Moriah McSharry McGrath; Sarah Dyer; Samiah Sheriff; Roberta Armitage; Kerstin Ruediger; Anoushka Jere; Saania afar; Shalaine Sedres, and Daania Chaudhary. Teaching & Learning Inquiry. January 2022, v. 10. [EJ1340410] Study examines how students and faculty perceived university messaging about equity, diversity and inclusion.
- "Diverse, Inclusive workplace: ‘Key Driver of Resilience and Recovery’.” United Nation News. 6 April 2022. Summary of survey conducted about how diversity and inclusion is viewed by the various strata with in a company.
- Diversity does not Automatically Translate into Inclusion. United Nations- Thailand Blog. 17 March 2022. Interview with Sarah Kniffs (Officer-in-Charge of the UN Women Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific, and Representative in Thailand) concerning keys to sustainable Diversity, Equity and Inclusion efforts.
- Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: A Checklist and Implementation Guide for Community College Boards. Association of Community College Trustees. [ED611029] Outlines critical steps in formulating and implementing diversity, equity, and inclusion policies.
- Enhancing Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility (IDEA) in Open Educational Resources (OER). Nikki Anderson. : University of Southern Queensland, 2022. Practical guide providing a framework and tips to enhance inclusion, diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility in OER.
- Gender-Inclusive Language. (United Nations) Guidelines for UN staff in composing gender-inclusive communications. Includes training materials, activities and resources including material addressing communications with trans and gender nonconforming staff, etc.
- Health Equity and Inclusion Program Strategies. (Oregon Health Authority. Office of Equity & Inclusion) Check list for use in designing equity and inclusion into programs. Although geared towards health programs, can serve as a basis for other disciplines.
- LGBT. (FDLP - Federal Depository Program) Webinars on the topic available through the FDLP Academy Training Repository.
- Making the Case for Diversity and Inclusion. Moyomola Bolarin. United Nations Blog. 31 August 2022. Discusses some of the factors and benefits involved in promoting diversity and inclusion in the workplace.
- Moving Beyond Change Efforts: Evidence and Action to Support and Affirm LGBTQI+ Youth. SAMHSA Publication No. PEP22-03-12-001. Rockville, Maryland: Department of Health & Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 2023. Intended for a wide range of audiences to help with the care of LGBTQI+ children and youth. Includes information on schools, behavioral health interventions, a selected list of resources for care givers and more.
- "Policy Analysis of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Strategies in Canadian Universities – How Far have We Come?” Merli Tamtik and Melissa Guenter. Canadian Journal of Higher Education. 2019 v.49(no.3): p.41-56. [EJ1237420] Review of 15 Canadian universities’ efforts to address equity, diversity and inclusion through their published policies and other strategic documents.
- Then and Now Experiences of the LGBTQ+ Community. (FDLP – Federal Depository Library Program) Resource/Subject guide to resources pertaining to the LGBTQ+ community. Its history, notable individuals, government resources, etc.
- See also Accessibility
- See also Disabilities
Divorce
Driver’s Licenses
- Department of Motor Vehicles by State. (DepartmentMotorVehicles.US. Knight & Davies Co.) Links to each state's DMV.
- DMV by State. (Online DMV) Information on various topics such as Registration, insurance, driver training, etc. for various states. There is not information for every state for every topic.
- Driver's Licenses (Ohio). Acquiring or renewing driver’s licenses and/or State IDs.
- FTC Consumer Alert: Driving Overseas? (Federal Trade Commission, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Office of Consumer and Business Education)
Top
Earthquakes
Ebola – See Health
Economics
- Economic Indicators. (GovInfo) April 1995- current.
- Economic Report of the President. (GovInfo) 1995-past year.
- FRASER: Federal Reserve Archive System for Economic Research. (St. Louis Federal Reserve.) Started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to the nation’s economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System—through digitization of documents related to the U.S. economy. It contains data and policy documents from the Federal Reserve, government data publications and statistical releases, Congressional hearings, etc.
- See also Money
Education
- Accountability Resources. (Ohio Department of Education) School and District performance reports, issued annually, detailing students’ performance on standardized statewide tests, rates of improvement on those tests, student attendance and graduation rates.
- College Navigator. (IES National Center for Educational Statistics) Locate colleges and universities based on various criteria.
- Ohio Department of Education
- Ohio School Report Cards. (Ohio Department of Education) Provides current and historical information on a specific school or district such as proficiency test results, graduation rates, financial data, and demographics. Languages other than English available.
- OhioHigherEd. (Ohio Department of Higher Education) Provides links to the Ohio Board of Regents, education programs for students and businesses, tools aimed at students for higher education planning, reports on the state of education in Ohio, etc.
- Public School Rankings. (PSK12.com) Select state, etc. Some what dated.
- Testing. (Ohio Department of Education Testing) Information about legally mandated testing of Ohio students including Diagnostic Assessments, Ohio Achievement Assessments, Ohio Graduation Tests and proficiency tests
- U.S. Department of Education
- See also Financial Aid/Grants
Elections – See Voting and Voter Registration
Embassies and Consulates
Emergency Management, Public Safety, and Terrorism
Employment
- America's Service Locator.
- Buckeye Careers. (The Ohio State University) Online career services network for OSU students with information on internships, employment opportunities, jobs, etc.
- CAREERS.OHIO.GOV. (The State of Ohio) Search for job openings for the State of Ohio.
- CareerOneStop – State Job Banks. (U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration and Americanjobcenter Network) Links to state, private sector, and veterans/government job banks.
- Jobs at Ohio State. (The Ohio State University. Human Resources)
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH). (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) Career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations compiled by the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Ohio Department of Job and Family Services.
- Ohio Means Jobs
- O-Net Online. (U.S. Department of Labor. Employment & Training Administration) Occupational information.
- U.S. Office of Personnel Management - Electronic Forms.
- USA Jobs. (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) U.S. Government positions.
Continued by Hot Topics F-M and Hot Topics N-Z
Top
