Research Guides: ARTEDUC 6998: Online MA in Art Education: Databases & Websites

Databases for Education

Education Full Text (Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 400 periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs in audiovisual education, classroom computers, comparative education, competency-based education, educational technology, government funding, language and linguistics, literacy standards, multi-cultural/ethnic education, psychology, religious education, science and mathematics, social sciences, special education, student counseling, teacher education, teacher/parent relations, and vocational education.
Education Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks. It includes accurate, detailed, cover-to-cover indexing of some 500 periodicals, as far back as 1929. It cites nearly one million articles, including book reviews.
Education Research Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers. The EBSCOhost interface is similar to Academic Search Complete.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand collections provide streaming video access to more than 8,000 videos and 90,000 segments for topics including Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine.
Institute of Education Sciences This link opens in a new window
The official website of the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), the research arm of the U.S. Department of Education. The site provides access to many publications and data resources from its four centers: the National Center for Education Research, the National Center for Education Statistics, the National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance, and the National Center for Special Education Research.

If you're looking for a specific database, you can go there directly by clicking on the "Research Databases List" link on the right side of the library's main page, and typing in the name of the database. Examples of helpful databases in Art and Art Education are listed and linked to below.

Databases for Art

Art & Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. This database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984 (H.W. Wilson) offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Business Source Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
This is one of the best databases to search for scholarly literature on business research topics. The database contains indexing and abstracts for scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals back from 1886 to the present. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Getty Publications Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable interface for the Getty Publications ebook collections in the fields of art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities.

How to Teach Art to Kids (According to Mark Rothko)

Photo by Jeffrey Greenberg/UIG via Getty Images. Image Source: Artsy

Ohio State nav bar

ARTEDUC 6998: Online MA in Art Education

Databases for Education

Databases for Art

Websites of Interest