Engineering and Physical Sciences:
libscience@lists.osu.edu
General Questions: Ask Us Email
General Questions: 614-292-8463
18th Ave Library, Phone: 614-292-0211
There are multiple ways to access library resources from off campus.
Information on e-book access
OSU Physics and Astronomy Resources
Tips on:
Below are some of the most popular engineering research databases.
Complete list of Engineering Databases ** Information on using databases
Use any of the following databases to search for academic articles and scientific data. Don't forget to cite your sources: How to create a scientific bibliography.
Shown below are some popular science and engineering journals available online through OSU Library subscriptions. For a complete listing of all OSU Library e-journals, visit the OSU Libraries' Online Journals List (or search for print and e-journals in the OSU catalog.) More info on e-journals.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals by
With specialization now the norm in engineering, students preparing for the FE and PE exams and practitioners going outside their specialty need a general reference with material across a number of disciplines. Since 1936, Eshbach′s Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals has been the bestselling reference covering the general principles of engineering; today, it′s more relevant than ever. For this Fifth Edition, respected author Myer Kutz fully updates and reshapes the text, focusing on the basics, the important formulas, tables, and standards necessary for complete and accurate knowledge across engineering disciplines. With chapters on mathematical principles, physical units and standards as well as the fundamentals of mechanical, aerospace, electrical, chemical, and industrial engineering, this classic reference is more relevant than ever to both practicing engineers and students studying for the FE and PE exams.
Handbook of Nanoscience, Engineering, and Technology, Third Edition by
In his 1959 address, There is Plenty of Room at the Bottom, Richard P. Feynman speculated about manipulating materials atom by atom and challenged the technical community to find ways of manipulating and controlling things on a small scale. This visionary challenge has now become a reality, with recent advances enabling atomistic-level tailoring and control of materials. Exemplifying FeynmanOCOs vision, Handbook of Nanoscience, Engineering, and Technology, Third Edition continues to explore innovative nanoscience, engineering, and technology areas. Along with updating all chapters, this third edition extends the coverage of emerging nano areas even further. Two entirely new sections on energy and biology cover nanomaterials for energy storage devices, photovoltaics, DNA devices and assembly, digital microfluidic lab-on-a-chip, and much more. This edition also includes new chapters on nanomagnet logic, quantum transport at the nanoscale, terahertz emission from Bloch oscillator systems, molecular logic, electronic optics in graphene, and electromagnetic metamaterials. With contributions from top scientists and researchers from around the globe, this color handbook presents a unified, up-to-date account of the most promising technologies and developments in the nano field. It sets the stage for the next revolution of nanoscale manufacturingOCowhere scalable technologies are used to manufacture large numbers of devices with complex functionalities."
ASM Handbooks
Volumes from the ASM handbook series and two ASM desk editions presented together in an online format. v. 1. Properties and selection: irons, steels, and high-performance alloys -- v. 2. Properties and selection: nonferrous alloys and special-purpose materials -- v. 3. Alloy phase diagrams -- v. 4. Heat treating -- v. 5. Surface engineering -- 6. Welding, brazing, and soldering -- v. 7. Powder metal technologies and applications -- v. 8. Mechanical testing and evaluation -- v. 9. Metallography and microstructures -- v. 10. Materials characterization -- v. 11. Failure analysis and prevention -- v. 12. Fractography -- v. 13A. Corrosion: fundamentals, testing, and protection -- v.13B. Corrosion: materials -- v.13C. Corrosion: environments and industries -- v. 14A. Metalworking: bulk forming -- v. 14B. Metalworking: sheet forming -- v. 15 Casting -- v. 16 Machining -- v. 17. Nondestructive evaluation and quality control -- v. 18. Friction, lubrication, and wear technology -- v. 19. Fatigue and fracture -- v. 20. Materials selection and design -- v.21. Composites -- v. 22A. Fundamentals of modeling for metals processing -- ASM handbook nonferrous alloys -- ASM desk editions
Essential Matlab for Engineers and Scientists by
The fifth edition of Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists provides a concise, balanced overview of MATLAB's functionality that facilitates independent learning, with coverage of both the fundamentals and applications. The essentials of MATLAB are illustrated throughout, featuring complete coverage of the software's windows and menus. Program design and algorithm development are presented clearly and intuitively, along with many examples from a wide range of familiar scientific and engineering areas. This is an ideal book for a first course on MATLAB or for an engineering problem-solving course using MATLAB, as well as a self-learning tutorial for professionals and students expected to learn and apply MATLAB. Updated with the features of MATLAB R2012b Expanded discussion of writing functions and scripts Revised and expanded Part II: Applications Expanded section on GUIs More exercises and examples throughout Companion website for students providing M-files used within the book and selected solutions to end-of-chapter problems
Handbook of Optics by 
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook by
Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics-- from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications First published in 1934, "Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook" has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data. Now updated to reflect the latest technology and processes of the new millennium, the Eighth Edition of this classic guide provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications. Filled with over 700 detailed illustrations, the Eighth Edition of "Perry's Chemcial Engineering Handbook" features: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion A greatly expanded section on physical and chemical data New to this edition: the latest advances in distillation, liquid-liquid extraction, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation processes, and chemical plant safety practices with accident case histories Inside This Updated Chemical Engineering Guide - Conversion Factors and Mathematical Symbols - Physical and Chemical Data - Mathematics - Thermodynamics - Heat and Mass Transfer - Fluid and Particle Dynamics Reaction Kinetics - Process Control - Process Economics - Transport and Storage of Fluids - Heat Transfer Equipment - Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying - Distillation - Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design - Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment - Adsorption and Ion Exchange - Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment - Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment - Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment - Size Reduction and Size Enlargement - Handling of Bulk Solids and Packaging of Solids and Liquids - Alternative Separation Processes - And Many Other Topics
National Electrical Code 2008 Handbook by
The #1 Guide to the 2008 NEC(r) to Ensure that Electrical Work Passes Inspection on the First Try Completely revised and updated to reflect all 2008 Code changes, "McGraw-Hill's National Electrical Code(r) 2008 Handbook, 26th Edition" provides the essential put-the-code-into-practice guidance that users require in the field and in the office. An industry bestseller for over 85 years, this classic handbook helps decipher and interpret new Code changes and difficult and controversial rules. With the new addition of Frederic P. Hartwell to the author team, this time-tested reference has been rigorously revised and rewritten to cover all the information needed to meet 2008 Code requirements. Covering every topic in the 2008 Code, the coverage ranges from grounded conductors, branch circuits, feeders, surge arresters, wiring methods, cables, conduits, and switches to hazardous locations, emergency systems, communications circuits, and product safety standards. "McGraw-Hill's National Electrical Code(r) 2008 Handbook, 26th Edition" features a bind-in card with a code that enables users to download the searchable e-book and the following new coverage: New rules, terminology, and definitions that modify key grounding concepts New rules for GFCIs and AFCIs Fire pumps Repair garage area classifications Solar photovoltaic systems, including utility interactive inverters Extensive coverage of how to size conductors under all loading conditions Critical operations power systems (COPS)-the new Article 708 on hardened facilities Inside this Practice-Oriented Guide to the 2008 NEC(r) Requirements for Electrical Installations Branch Circuits Feeders Services Surge Arresters Wiring Methods Cables Conduits Tubing Busways Wireways Raceways Fixture Wires Switches Appliances Generators Capacitors Storage Batteries Hazardous Locations Temporary Wiring Emergency Systems Communications Circuits Tables Examples And Much More "
Introduction to Corrosion Science by 
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers by
Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily with the world's leading engineering handbook Nearly 1800 pages of mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards, and practices, 2000 illustrations, and 900 tables clarifying important mathematical and engineering principle, and the collective wisdom of 160 experts help you answer any analytical, design, and application question you will ever have.
Transmission Electron Microscopy by
This groundbreaking text has been established as the market leader throughout the world. Profusely illustrated, Transmission Electron Microscopy: A Textbook for Materials Science provides the necessary instructions for successful hands-on application of this versatile materials characterization technique. For this first new edition in 12 years, many sections have been completely rewritten with all others revised and updated. The new edition also includes an extensive collection of questions for the student, providing approximately 800 self-assessment questions and over 400 questions that are suitable for homework assignment. Four-color illustrations throughout also enhance the new edition. Praise for the first edition: `The best textbook for this audience available. American Scientist `Ideally suited to the needs of a graduate level course. It is hard to imagine this book not fulfilling most of the requirements of a text for such a course. Microscope `This book is written in such a comprehensive manner that it is understandable to all people who are trained in physical science and it will be useful both for the expert as well as the student. Micron `The book answers nearly any question - be it instrumental, practical, or theoretical - either directly or with an appropriate reference...This book provides a basic, clear-cut presentation of how transmission electron microscopes should be used and of how this depends specifically on ones specific undergoing project. MRS Bulletin, May 1998 `The only complete text now available which includes all the remarkable advances made in the field of TEM in the past 30-40 years....The authors can be proud of an enormous task, very welldone. from the Foreword by Professor Gareth Thomas, University of California, Berkeley
The Manual of Engineering Drawing by
The Manual of Engineering Drawing has long been the recognised as a guide for practicing and student engineers to producing engineering drawings and annotated 3D models that comply with the latest British and ISO Standards of Technical Product Specifications and Documentation. This new edition has been updated to include the requirements of BS8888 2008 and the relevant ISO Standards, and is ideal for International readership; it includes a guide to the fundamental differences between the ISO and ASME Standards relating to Technical Product Specification and Documentation. Equally applicable to CAD and manual drawing it includes the latest development in 3D annotation and the specification of surface texture. The Duality Principle is introduced as this important concept is still very relevant in the new world of 3D Technical Product Specification. Written by members of BSI and ISO committees and a former college lecturer, the Manual of Engineering Drawing combines up to the minute technical information with clear, readable explanations and numerous diagrams and traditional geometrical construction techniques rarely taught in schools and colleges. This approach makes this manual an ideal companion for students studying vocational courses in Technical Product Specification, undergraduates studying engineering or product design and any budding engineer beginning a career in design. The comprehensive scope of this new edition encompasses topics such as orthographic and pictorial projections, dimensional, geometrical and surface tolerancing, 3D annotation and the duality principle, along with numerous examples of electrical and hydraulic diagrams with symbols and applications of cams, bearings, welding and adhesives. * The definitive guide to draughting to the latest ISO and ASME standards * An essential reference for engineers, and students, involved in design engineering and product design * Written by two ISO committee members and practising engineers.
2010 ASHRAE Handbook -- Refrigeration (I-P) by
The 2010 ASHRAE Handbook-Refrigeration covers the refrigeration equipment and systems for applications other than human comfort. This book includes information on cooling, freezing, and storing food; industrial applications of refrigeration; and low-temperature refrigeration. Primarily a reference for the practicing engineer, this volume is also useful for anyone involved in cooling and storage of food products.This edition contains two new chapters, Chapter 3, "Carbon Dioxide Refrigeration Systems" and Chapter 50, "Terminology of Refrigeration."
OSU has access to many e-dissertations and theses through Proquest. (For best results, use the Advanced Search.) 
Details for finding dissertations and theses from all over the world (including OSU).
(through ILLiad) Request free electronic delivery of journal articles not available through OSU Libraries' subscriptions.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) can be used to find a wide variety of articles related to most academic areas. If you prefer more specificity, however, the library has a large selection of databases available for your use (also see list of popular databases in the top, right of this page).
Some tips for writing your paper using Academic Search Complete (EBSCO):
1. Start with magazine and newspaper articles.
a. Use the Advanced Search option to search for your topic in Academic Search Complete (EBSCO).
b. Limit your results (left column, Source Types) to magazines and newspapers.
c. Limit those results (left column, Publication) to titles you know (Discover Magazine, New York Times, etc.).
2. Read about your subject in the above magazines and books and then, if necessary, extend your search to academic journal articles (still using Academic Search Complete).
If you need additional help with your research for this class, including finding articles, organizing your research, or citing your sources, you can contact the Libraries' Ask Us! team here: https://library.osu.edu/askus (please let them know you are taking English 1110).
© The Ohio State University - University Libraries
1858 Neil Avenue Mall, Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-OSUL (6785) | Fax: (614) 292-9101
Request an alternate format of this page | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
For all other requests, click Ask Us.
Call Us 
Email Us
Chat with Us
Recommend a Purchase