RESEARCH GUIDES

Resources to Support Instruction and Research During COVID-19 for Latin America, Iberia, Spanish and Portuguese

Resources to support virtual instruction and research during COVID-19

Request a Purchase

Use the links below to recommend a purchase

Recommend a Purchase

Request Streaming Video

Find online journals

Online Journals and eBooks List

Locate a specific online journal or eBook title, browse a list of online journals or eBooks or identify online journals or eBook titles by subject.

About this page

In response to the novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, several academic publishers of textbook, ebook, and scholarly presses have temporarily provided access to their copyrighted and otherwise restricted materials.

Note: These materials are available on a temporary basis. Please anticipate that access to these materials may not be permanent.

Resource to find ebooks

Search the following repositories and databases to identify digital copies of books or ebooks.

Online Libraries

Internet Archive Open Library
A temporary collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.

HathiTrust Digital Library

The Emergency Temporary Access Service to HathiTrust provides OSU students, faculty, and staff with reading access to the library's print book collection, including copyrighted works.

Presses/Publishers

Databases

Project MUSE: More than 50 publishers are offering free content during the COVID-19 crisis on Project Muse.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost): Search and view the full text of eBooks as offered via EBSCO’s collection of titles.

ProQuest Ebook Central: Proquest ebook central has expanded access to some titles during COVID-19.

JSTOR: has temporarily expanded access and sometimes has ebooks available.

Textbooks

Norton, McGraw-Hill, Pearson, Wiley and Cengage have all agreed to provide digital copies of course content to students at no cost through the duration of the Spring 2020 semester. Instructors interested in using this course content should complete the Digital Textbook Request Form to get started.

Directions

While access to OSU's circulating collection remain limited or inaccessible use the following steps to find a digital copy of a book.

1) Check the OSU Catalog

OSU Catalog-Select the "WorldCat@OSU" tab. Search for a book by title, author, or keyword. Limit the current search under "format" by "eBook" OR select the title and expand the "Explore Editions and Formats" to see if digital version is available for the item.

Searching by Format on WorldCat undefined

2) Search for the book title in quotes in Google

3) Check the suggested databases and repositories/sources on this page

4) Check publisher websites suggested on this page

5) Ask a librarian to inquire about purchasing an ebook copy