Research Guides: Resources to Support Instruction and Research During COVID-19 for Latin America, Iberia, Spanish and Portuguese: Streaming Sources (Film, Media, Audio)

Internet Resources on Latin American Cinema

Find online streaming sources for your instruction and research

Latin American & Spanish Videos Freely Available on the Internet: A guide to Web Sources: Developed by Jesús Alonso-Regalado of SUNY-Albany, this guide shares freely available films, short film and tv available through online resources. Browse the guide by subject and country. Review the "limited access" tab to find web resources available for a limited time.
LANIC Guide to Cinema on Latin America: Web-based resources on cinema in Latin America - including festivals, distributors, organizations, and other resources.
Arturita: A guide for finding audiovideo archives in Latin America. Click on "Archivos, cinetecas, filmotecas" to find a listing of national film archives by country.

IMDB Country Browser: Click on a country name to view reports, search results and other information based around movies and TV-series produced or co-produced by that country.

Historia y crítica del cine español: Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes

Hamaca: Hamaca is a not-for-profit distributor of video and media art. This webpage provides access to over 400 Latin American and Spanish Videos freely available on the web.

Video, Film & Documentaries @ OSUL

Find film and streaming sources in the OSU Collection

Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Swank Digital Campus Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand collections provide streaming video access to more than 8,000 videos and 90,000 segments for topics including Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine.
New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Films include the OscarÂ®-nominated Twilight Samurai, directed by YÃ´ji Yamada, and OscarÂ®-nominated The Scent of Green Papaya, directed by Tran Anh Hung. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.

Specialty Film/Documentary Databases

Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP's Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.

Classic Mexican Cinema Mexican Cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its “Golden Age” (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries. During its heyday, the Mexican film industry produced an average of one hundred films annually and supplied screen entertainment to both domestic audiences and international markets in Latin America, the United States, and Europe. The Golden Age of Mexican Cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. Not only does it include chief magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965) and Cine Mundial (1954-1955), it also features extremely rare copies of El Cine Gráfico from 1935 and of the weekly El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910). The true extent of the popularity of Mexican film is illustrated by Cinelandia (1931-1947), which was published in Hollywood both in Spanish and in English. This collection also includes dozens of film flyers, which were distributed on the streets to lure people into the cinema. Finally, for the first time this collection gives access to the personal scrap books of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958), one of the leading Latin-American filmmakers to this day. These volumes contain reviews, movie stills, programs, and advertisements, shedding a unique light on the career of this pioneering director. The sources in this collection, heretofore only accessible in the archives of the Filmoteca de la UNAM in Mexico City, will be invaluable to scholars and researchers working on film and media studies, Latin American studies, and many other aspects of the historical, social, and political impact of cinema.

LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. LGBT Studies in Video provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. It also provides key resources of interest to students and researchers in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.

Humanizing Deportations
A digital project documenting the personal stories and experiences of deportees and other affected by deportation developed by faculty and graduate students from UC-Davis.

`INSTRUCTIONAL & EDUCATIONAL`

Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online: is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection is made up of hundreds of hours of classic and contemporary documentaries previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field and select feature films. Wherever possible, videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing, full-text materials.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries.
Environmental Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies in Video contains over 500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. The collection addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.

Foreign Language Instruction

Foreign Language Videos (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Foreign Language Video Instruction is a collection of video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video clip is accompanied by a description of its contents, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. These videos are produced by the ViewPoints Project of the Five Colleges of Ohio consortium. Videos are available in QuickTime format.
OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons: Educational Films and Documentaries This link opens in a new window
Educational Films & Documentaries contain full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences. Videos may be streamed or downloaded for classroom use.
Faculty can search the OIT Media Library to identify videos for classroom use. Videos/DVDs purchased by OSU Libraries can be found by searching the Libraries' Visual Materials catalog.

Film Copyright Resources

Follow the links to address FAQs on Copyright:

Can I share a work (video, image, audio, etc.) over the Internet for teaching purposes?
Using materials in distance learning: A guide to the TEACH ACT: see also the TEACH Act Toolkit
Copyright and eLearning Guide: Includes copyright best practices for carmen and zoom.
Exceptions for Instructors in U.S. Copyright Law: use this etool to walk through your intended use of materials.