Research Guides: BUSMHR 4010: Group Project Resources: Getting Started

Getting Started

Note

As well as the Libraries' databases I'm suggesting, I would also recommend going to the company's website, especially their investor relations page(s), if applicable. Libraries' databases are going to have variable coverage when it comes to international companies, so it's worth searching in more than one database for company profiles, etc. I very strongly recommend you choose public companies, as finding data on private companies is difficult to impossible.

What's on this page is by no means all relevant resources; just a few starting points. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me for further assistance.

Best Bets

NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
This database is probably the best resources for company information, especially financials.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
The company profile pages in this database are solid but it also includes links to market research reports; coverage is global.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID provides global coverage for industry and market research. You can search by keyword or browse by broad industries. Demographic and country economic information are also available.
Mergent Online [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
This is a good database for company profiles and the only database that has some supply chain information (very limited, lists of supplier companies sometimes broken out by segment).

MarketLine
The MarketLine database includes industry profiles, major deals, and sometimes value and supply chain analysis and case studies. Coverage is global.

IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
The reports in IBISWorld are mostly for the US but they provide really good overviews of industries including competitive landscape, operating conditions, outlook and more.
Factiva [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a global news aggregator database. Sometimes when you can't find information elsewhere about company operations, there might be a news story to help you parse out that information.

Fitch Connect
This database provides global, regional and country industry sector reports, mainly focused on risk analysis and forecasts.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
This database has global market research reports, especially for STEM industries.

Business & Economics Librarian

Ash Faulkner

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Thompson Library 222C
1858 Neil Avenue Mall
Columbus, OH 43210

614-514-5935

Subjects: Economics