In Libraries Search, use the following to find specific items:
Journal Title Search can be used in Libraries Search to search by journal title or ISSN. You can also browse by letter or category.
Databases Title Search can be used in Libraries Search to search by database title. You can also browse by letter or category.
Citation Finder can be used in Libraries Search to search for an article, book, or journal using a citation.
Browse By.... can be used in Libraries Search to search for items by title, author, call number, and other ways.
Note: This is a novel, but also explains calculus concepts.
Limited to 3 users at a time
Limited to 1 user at a time
Limited to 1 user at a time
Limited to 1 user at a time
Limited to 1 user at a time
Accessing content found in library databases
If you are within one of our hundreds of databases, and the full text is not available there, look for this symbol (it may be under a section about access that requires you to click that label).
Clicking on this button checks for online access. If an item is not available online, you will get an option for interlibrary loan.
Note some tools may have a text-only version of Find It!, but it should behave the same way. Some items may have multiple access options (see the right side of the screen for additional options).
Accessing online content found via Libraries Search
In Libraries Search, after clicking on the title of an ebook, streaming video, article, or other item available online, look for the View Online section to find access options (there may be mulitple).
A journal article:
An ebook:
Example for a database:
Streaming video:
A magazine article:
Getting physical items (print books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) found via Libraries Search
You can go to the location where an item is or click Request to get it held for you at any OSU library location or sent to your office/dorm.
MathSciNet is the major database to find content in the mathematics and statistics literature.
MathSciNet has been Redesigned!
This redesign has made significant changes to the way you search MathSciNet. The following tutorials will walk you through these changes:
You can still use the previous interface, see the Show Classic Interface link above the magnifying glass search button, to the upper right of the search box.
Google Scholar searches content from across most disciplines.
Use the above link to you can make sure Google Scholar works best for you on or off campus. In order to better use it, connect it to OSU by going to Settings > Library links (on left) and then search for Ohio State. Check the option The Ohio State University Libraries - Find It @ OSU.
See our Libraries Search guide for details on using Libraries Search to find books, articles, videos, and more.
To see how to find specific items (specific journals, databases, authors, etc.) or specific formats, see this page on the Libraries Search guide for help.
Libraries Search can be used to find books (both print books, ebooks, and some audiobooks).
To focus in on books, you can limit to books prior to searching by choosing it under Resource Type.
After a search, you can refine to books (under resource type) and specify you want content available online (e.g., ebooks).
You will see print books available across OSU and OhioLINK locations. You can refine to specify a specific library location for a print book, if desired.
