Japanese Studies Resource

Access open data provided by ministries and agencies.

Japanese government portal site: links to agencies and their publications including statistics, white papers, annual reports, etc as well as Kanpo (official government gazette).

Provides collective information from the publicity materials of ministries and agencies. It also provides basic information about Japan.

A bilingual journal published by the Japan Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry (METI), since 2013. Formerly the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI).

Archives the whole websites of public organizations in Japan since 2002. Note: major publications such as White Papers and official bulletins of prefectures are archived in the NDL Digital Collections instead.

Diet proceedings 1947-

近現代日本政治関係人物文献目録. Resources about Japanese politicians from the Meiji period onward. Database at the National Diet Library.

During the occupation period after World War II, Japanese publications were censored by the Allied Forces. The Gordon W. Prange Collection consists of the newspapers, magazines and books submitted to the Allied Powers, and the originals are now preserved in the University of Maryland, U.S. From this collection, ca. 20,000 books and other publications have been digitized and made available in the reading rooms of the NDL. Some items have notes made during the censorship process such as "delete" etc.

The Official Gazettes, from its first issue of July 2, Meiji 16 (1883) up to the issue of April 30, Showa 27 (1952), are available here. OFFICIAL GAZETTE; ENGLISH EDITION, which was published only during the occupation period by the GHQ (1946-1952) is also available online, but under the category of "Periodicals".

About 300 items from the document collection of the Modern Japanese Political History Materials Room of the NDL are available here. The collection includes correspondences, manuscripts, diaries, and photographs, which originally belonged to the eminent figures of the Japanese modern political history.

The Modern Japanese Political History Materials Room of the NDL collects U.S. official documents on the Allied occupation of Japan after WW2. Parts of this collection (ca. 30,000 items) are available on this database. They have been mainly digitized from microfilms and original documents. The materials whose copyrights and other legal framework have not been cleared are available only at the NDL.
・Records of the U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey
・Records of General Headquarters, Far East Command, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers, and United Nations Command, 1945 – 1960
・Records of General Headquarters Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers, GHQ/SCAP
・Japanese Monographs
・Illustrations of Reports of General MacArthur