Japanese Studies Resource

A digital library that provides browsing access to more than 10,000 academic e-book titles in Japanese. OSU has acquired full access to several hundred of these titles and has plans to purchase many more. Users can request new titles on KinoDen by using the purchase button within the platform itself or contacting the Japanese Studies Librarian (davis.5257@osu.edu).

Managed by MARUZEN-YUSHOD. MeL has the largest selection of Japanese academic and educational eBooks and journal backfiles (some current), and is currently expanding its line of English academic and educational eBooks as well. Users may make requests the purchase of specific eBook titles (for full access) on this platform by contacting the Japanese Studies Librarian.

Currently OSU offers some 60 titles of Japanese-language eBooks and serials through EBSCOHost. These are primarily comprised of academic journals on Japanese linguistics and Okinawan Studies, and reference books and textbooks on Japanese language learning. This link will take you to the OSU library site. Once you follow the Library's link, choose "Academic Search Complete" on EBSCOHost and then filter for Japanese language resources.

HathiTrust has opened emergency temporary access to copyrighted material in their digital library to member institutions with copies of those items in their physical collections. The link here takes you to HathiTrust's homepage. Please log in with your OSU credentials to begin searching for resources. Utilize the "Advanced Search" function to filter for resources available to OSU. OSU has access to both limited and full-text access within the collection.

Consists of fully searchable and browsable databases including English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionaries, Encyclopedia Nipponica and Encyclopedia of Japan, articles published in a weekly magazine Ekonomisuto, collection of Toyo bunko series and other visual and sound databases.

An online database that allows cross-searching among Japanese-English and English-Japanese dictionaries and encyclopedias published by Kenkyusha and Sanseido.

This is our more comprehensive guide to online reference books, indexes, and digital collections for researchers and students of Japanese Studies.

CiNii(Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is a database service which can be searched for academic information of articles, books & Jjournals.

Japanese Institutional Repositories Online

Database of research thesis in Japanese literature from National Institute of Japanese Literature.

National Diet Library's search system for books, articles, theses, news, and digitized materials within its holdings as well as throughout Japan, aggregating access to many databases and web sites.

「日本語研究・日本語教育文献データベース」 Index to articles on linguistics, Japanese language and language pedagogy. Comprises data from 『国語年鑑』and『日本語教育年鑑』.

This historical collection consists of about 50,000 sound recordings of music, speeches, etc. on 78rpm records and metal discs from around 1900 to 1950. Approximately 4,900 of them are provided on the internet, while others are available only on the premises of the NDL and about 300 Rekion partner libraries in Japan and overseas (and OSU Libraries is one of them!)

Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. A selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics.

Essential documentary films for higher education. Exclusive academic streaming for films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution. Videos are available in Mandarin Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and other languages.
To search for specific language, users must use the "advanced search" function, located in the "Language" drop down box.

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. It has an extensive library of both Japanese language titles and English titles related to Japanese Studies.

This is our more comprehensive guide to online resources for researchers and scholars of Japanese movies and televised drama.