Chinese Studies Resources

1st Floor Current Periodicals Journals in Thompson Library

Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers. Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history. This unique collection is cross-searchable with all ProQuest historical and current newspapers, as well as with other resources your library subscribes to on ProQuest.

Covers around 280,000 pieces of historical documents from 302 periodicals published during 1833~1911. The extensive collection has covered almost all the periodicals published during such critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge. The search terms of the database include title, author and periodical, etc. Users may have access to some 280,000 pieces of historical documents and browse or download them in full text.

Covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 25,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical values. It not only helps reproduce the unique historical features of the ROC (1911~1949) and restore the historical memory, but also enriches the digital resources of periodicals so as to facilitate users to conduct academic research on the history of the ROC (1911~1949). The search terms of the database include title,author,periodical,etc. Users may browse or download them in full text.

國立政治大學圖書館暨社會科學資料中心建置之資料庫，收錄中正圖書館特藏室典藏民國38年以前重要剪報資料之數位影像內容。

資料類型以新聞資料、史料為主，收錄年代約為1930-1949年間，共計139,558則標題，165,804頁資料，是中國大陸地區對日抗戰時間的重要新聞資訊。

The collection provides digitized images of old Hong Kong newspapers from the library, which are accessible through the Multimedia Information System of Hong Kong Public Libraries. Collection includes: 香港工商日报 (Chinese) (1926/04/01 – 1984/11/30)*，香港工商晚报 (Chinese) (1930/11/16 – 1984/11/29)*，华侨日报 (Chinese) (1947/05/01 – 1991/12/31)*，
香港华字日报 (Chinese) (1895/01/31 – 1940/12/31)*，香港华字晚报 (Chinese) (1937/01/28 – 1938/01/27)*，大公报 (Chinese) (1938/08/13 –1991/12/31)*，
天光报 (Chinese) (1933/02/07 - 1940/11/30)*，遐迩贯珍 (Chinese) (1853/08 – 1856/05)*，循环日报 (Chinese) (1874/05/16 - 1886/01/30)*，China Mail (1866/01/04 – 1961/12/29)*，Hong Kong Daily Press (1864/01/04 – 1941/09/30)*，Hong Kong Sunday Herald (1929/01/06 – 1950/10/29)*，Hong Kong Telegraph (1881/06/16 – 1951/03/30)* and Hong Kong Weekly Press (1895/01/03 – 1909/12/24)*

资源库包含了民国时期极具影响力的多种报纸，目前有《新华日报》《大刚报》《新华日报》《益世报》

Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education.

How can I tell the difference between Wade-Giles and Pinyin