East Asian Studies Resources

OSUL Chinese Studies Collections Blog - Look for "From Our Shelves" posts

Browse through Japanese extensive reading list

OSUL Korean Studies Collections Blog - Look for "From Out Shelves" posts with "Book" tags

Browse through Korean extensive reading list

Refer to the catalog for titles and location. For specific collections:

Historical Recording Collection from the National Diet Library, Japan

OSUL Japanese Studies Collections Blog - Look for "Focus on Rekion"" posts

OSUL Korean Collections Blog - Look for "From Our Shelves" posts with "Film" tags

Refer to the catalog for titles and location. For more details and tips about finding OSUL's Manga Collections:

There are two ways to search the records in Chinese/Japanese/Korean:

• Enter search using romanized characters
• Enter search in Chinese/Korean/Japanese characters

The libraries follow the romanization standards used in the Library of Congress

Chinese  -  pinyin romanization system, however some older titles still has titles using the Wade-Giles romanization system.

Japanese - Modified Hepburn romanization system

Korean - McCune-Reischauer system

To learn more about call number and its classification go to :

A -- General Works

B -- Philosophy. Psychology. Religion

C -- Auxiliary Sciences Of History

D -- World History And History Of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Etc.

E -- History Of The Americas

F -- History Of The Americas

G -- Geography. Anthropology. Recreation

H -- Social Sciences

J -- Political Science

K -- Law

L -- Education

M -- Music And Books On Music

N -- Fine Arts

P -- Language And Literature

Q -- Science

R -- Medicine

S -- Agriculture

T -- Technology

U -- Military Science

V -- Naval Science

Z -- Bibliography. Library Science. Information Resources (General)