Industry & Market Research

IBISWorld Industry Reports are probably best bet starting points for background on US industries down to the 5-digit NAICS level. Reports on an industry will include information on industry performance and outlook, major products & markets, an overview of the competitive landscape and major players, and a section on operating conditions. This is a great place to start getting a detailed industry overview.

NetAdvantage is primarily an investment research database, but it also provides access to Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys, which analyze industry activity in broad categories for the U.S. These reports include financial metrics, key industry drivers, industry trends, Porter's Five Forces analysis and a section on 'How to analyze a company in this industry'.

This database is primarily focused on providing information for risk analysis. Industry reports cover a five-year outlook, a SWOT analysis, consumer demographics and trends while Country Risk Reports provide the reader with political and economic SWOT analyses, information about relevant monetary and fiscal policies, information on operational risks, a ten-year forecast and more.

BCC Research publishes market research reports that cover major markets and applications for technology, industry structure information, major players and their market shares, industry dynamics, five-year outlooks and more. These reports look mainly at global markets and coverage is especially strong for engineering, health, chemical, technology and materials areas.

Statista is an online statistics portal providing insights and data on over 170 industries and more than 150 countries. As well as accessing individual statistics, users can also find consumer, industry, country and other reports which compile relevant statistics.

This database can be used for company research as well, but it also provides access to a range of industry and market research reports. You can choose to 'Research Industries' directly from the homepage or go into a company profile page and link out to the relevant industry from there. An industry page will show top participants in the industry, regional company counts and links to market research reports, particularly RMA Industry Norms and MarketLine Industry Profiles.

This database focuses on industry analysis for countries regarded as emerging markets. The database includes access to The Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Reports and country profiles include information on major industries, statistics and forecasts, news, and information on the equity market.

This database includes international sporting goods equipment market reports for 35 countries, export and import statistics, trade magazine and newsletter pages dealing with finance, licensing, fashion, women's and youth sports, marketing, sponsorship, research reports, sports broadcasting, ratings and more.

This database provides very detailed reports that analyze price trends, buyer power, supplier information and much more for an analysis of the issues at play in procurement in a particular industry. Limited industries covered, but very good information.

This database provides a good starting point for broad background on a particular country. Country Reviews (available under the Intelligence Zone drop down meu on the homepage) include a political overview, economic overview, investment overview, social overview, and environmental overview. The database also includes political news, elections information and forecasts.

As well as information on consumers and industries, Passport GMID includes a section on 'Economies' which provides reports on 'Business Dynamics', 'Economy, Finance & Trade', and 'Sustainability' for covered nations. The Business Dynamics reports may be particularly interesting because they briefly cover the operations and regulatory environment, information on financing and investing, background on the skills and labor available in the country and an overview of transportation and infrastructure.

Country profiles in this database are brief, but include key information regarding location and climate, government and recent political history, economic affairs and regional and international co-operation. Covers more than 250 countries and territories.