Research Guides: Linguistics: Finding Articles

English Librarian

Jennifer Schnabel

Email Me

Subjects: Film, Linguistics, Literature

Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online, including: a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003, access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications including American Anthropologist, and current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present. Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
Education Research Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
Communication & Mass Media Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as core).
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexes approximately 350 periodicals in anthropology, area studies, community, health and medical care, economics, ethnic studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law and criminology, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy science and corrections, political science, psychology and psychiatry social work and public welfare, sociology, and urban studies.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new window The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. The bibliography consists of 69 volumes beginning in 1920 and issued annually in printed volumes. Subject areas covered by ABELL include English Language - including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology English Literature - including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors Bibliography - including manuscript studies, textual studies and the history of publishing. Traditional culture of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.
Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

How to Register in ILLiad and Make Interlibrary Loan Requests

On the Web

Linguistic Society of America--News Releases

Ohio State nav bar

Linguistics

English Librarian

Databases

How to Register in ILLiad and Make Interlibrary Loan Requests

Journals

On the Web