RESEARCH GUIDES

Food Science & Technology

Tools for research and finding resources in Food Science and Technology

Citation Management Software

Members of the College of Veterinary Medicine or College of Food, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences with citation management questions may contact Jessica Page for assistance. Others should contact their subject librarian.

Citation management software saves your time by helping you keep track of the articles, books and other resources you use, and helps you instantly format your bibliographies into the citation style of your choosing. On this page, you'll find information about two of the most popular citation management tools, Zotero and EndNote.

Zotero

Zotero
Zotero is a free tool with web, browser and desktop components that allows users to easily capture citation information directly from their browsers. It includes a plugin for Word, Google Docs, and other word processing software to let users to create bibliographies using over 7000 citation styles. Zotero allows users to create or join groups to collaborate.

Learn how to optimize Zotero's settings to work with OSU's subscription materials and your citations.

ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib
ZoteroBib is a free online tool to let you create quick, one-off bibliographies for term papers, posters, and presentations.

To learn more about ZoteroBib's features and to decide between it and Zotero, read the ZoteroBib FAQ.

EndNote

EndNote
EndNote is a research management software package that imports, organizes and stores the citations you find using research databases and library catalogs. EndNote also stores and organizes the full text of your references. EndNote integrates with Word to format citations and bibliographies instantly.

EndNote is available at a discounted price from the OSU Tech Hub.
Learn how to optimize EndNote's settings for use with OSU Libraries' resources.
Use Pages instead of Word? Get the EndNote Cite-While-You-Write plugin from Apple.
For technical questions about EndNote, please contact EndNote Support

EndNote Online

EndNote Online
EndNote Online is a limited functionality, web-based version of EndNote that can be used alone or with the EndNote desktop software. EndNote Online imports, stores, and organizes citations, and formats citations and bibliographies using a Word plugin.

EndNote Online is available for free to all OSU students, faculty and staff. Users can create an account and access EndNote Online via myendnoteweb.com, or through the EndNote link in Web of Science.
For technical questions about EndNote Online, please contact EndNote Support.

Other Citation Management Tools

Getting started

Getting Started with Zotero
A brief guide to Zotero's helpful features and tools

Citation Management Tool settings at OSU

Custom EndNote and Zotero settings

Importing PDFs to citation management tools

Converting PDFs to citations

Get more Zotero storage space

Zotero syncing and storage