Advancing Media Production Research [ebook] by
This anthology explores challenges to understanding the nature of cultural production, exploring innovative new research approaches and improvements to old approaches, such as newsroom ethnography, which will enable clearer, fuller understanding of the workings of journalism and other forms of media and cultural production.
The Handbook of Global Media Research [ebook] by
Bringing together the perspectives of more than 40 internationally acclaimed authors, The Handbook of Global Media Research explores competing methodologies in the dynamic field of transnational media and communications, providing valuable insight into research practice in a globalized media landscape. Provides a framework for the critical debate of comparative media research Posits transnational media research as reflective of advanced globalization processes, and explores its roles and responsibilities Articulates the key themes and competing methodological approaches in a dynamic and developing field Showcases the perspectives and ideas of 30 leading internationally acclaimed scholars Offers a platform for the discussion of crucial issues from a variety of theoretical, methodical and practical viewpoints
Media Audience Research by
The only comprehensive training book on conducting research into all forms of media This book outlines all the methods for conducting research--both active and passive as well as quantitative and qualitative--in all forms of media, including new media such as the Internet, mobile phones and social media. It explains the ways in which media audiences are measured, understood and taken into account in media planning, advertising sales and social development campaigns. It shows how datasets are analysed and used. The statistical theories behind good quantitative research are explained in simple and accessible language. The book is intended for both media research scholars and practitioners.
Media Research Methods by
More than a 'how-to' book, this textbook explains the reasons behind the methods and makes the connections to theory and knowledge production. Written in a conversational style, it takes the reader through each step of the research process, outlining the procedures, differences, strengths and limitations of metric, interpretive and the newer hybrid approaches. It lays down a strong foundation in empirical research and problem solving, addressing metric topics of hypotheses, sampling, statistics, and survey and experimental protocols and interpretive topics of textual analysis, coding, critical engagement and ethnography. It ends with a special chapter for those aiming at a career in research and analysis. Key Features: * provides students with an extensive overview of research practices while supplying real, practical advice on how to conduct research * consistent critical perspective throughout gives students an understanding of both the accomplishments and difficulties of research * addresses the practices of metric and interpretive research through Monte Carlo demonstrations that show the inner workings of statistical analysis and interpretive decision making
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods [ebook] by
Qualitative methods are central to research conducted in Education, Nursing, Sociology, Anthropology, and other disciplines in the humanities, social sciences and health sciences. The range of methods available to researchers is very broad (e.g., interviews, focus groups, observation) and projects are informed by various approaches (e.g., phenomenology, grounded theory, discourse analysis). Students, scholars and professionals who are new to qualitative research typically need guidance in defining the boundaries of this type of research, such as selecting specific methods, knowing what types of data are appropriate for qualitative research, identifying theoretical frameworks for particular projects, etc. It is important that both novice and established scholars understand the language, culture, and paradigmatic approaches used in qualitative research, especially as interdisciplinary projects increasingly link researchers across varied fields of study. Researchers and practitioners at all levels and across disciplines need a ready-reference tool that defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of this approach to research. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods (two volumes) presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative methods in a non-intimidating and accessible style. The encyclopedia is specifically written to appeal to beginning, intermediate, and advanced students, practitioners, researchers, consultants, and consumers of information across the social sciences, humanities, and health sciences. While there are 'how-to' guides and reference texts on qualitative methods, none provide as comprehensive a resource in as focused and approachable a manner as the proposed encyclopedia. From A to Z, the entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, from gaining access to research participants, to data coding and collection, to research ethics, to the detailed aspects of specific qualitative methods, and much more û all without overwhelming the informed reader.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by
Presenting the state of the art for the theory and practice of qualitative inquiry, this landmark Handbook has been a publishing phenomenon in the human sciences since it first released in 1994. As with earlier editions, the Fourth Edition is virtually a new volume. Representing the best thinking from top scholars from around the world, the new edition continues the book's tradition of synthesizing an existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The editors and contributors address issues of social justice and examine how people's struggles can inform public issues and in turn be transformed into social policy. Their writings are underpinned by a critical framework, and they are committed to addressing inequalities. As with previous editions, their aim is to show how the practices of qualitative research can effect change in the world in positive ways. The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research is an absolutely essential reference for any scholar interested in the art, science, and practice of qualitative research, as well as a critical resource for all academic and public libraries.
© The Ohio State University - University Libraries
1858 Neil Avenue Mall, Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-OSUL (6785) | Fax: (614) 292-9101
Request an alternate format of this page | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
For all other requests, click Ask Us.