Research Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literature Research Guide: Article or Book Requests & Journals

Interlibrary Loans (FREE)

Establish a free ILLiad account to obtain articles, books and more from OSU's Interlibrary Loan Service.

Use your ILLiad account to request articles for which OSU does not have e-access. If an article you need is across campus (in print) or across the country, we'll find it and get an e-copy to you -- free!

Request books and more from our Interlibrary Loan service.

Recommend the purchase of a new item for the OSU Libraries' collections.

How to Register in ILLiad and Make Interlibrary Loan Requests

Search OSU Libraries' Catalog

Title Search Subject Search Author Search Libraries' Homepage

Finding Articles and Books

Specialized LAT Databases

Hispanic American Periodicals Index Online (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
HAPI is a source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
HLAS contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.

Multidisciplinary Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
PAIS International and Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A selective index with mini-abstracts to economic, political,and social issues. It covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. It covers topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Contains references to journal articles, books, statistical yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche from all over the world. More than 1,600 journals and over 7,000 monographs are indexed each year. Most are of the materials indexed are written in English, but there are references to material originally published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. All of the index headings and the mini-abstracts are in English.
Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Web of Science (All Databases search) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is a cross-searchable interface for numerous Thompson Reuters databases including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Derwent Innovations Index, and Journal Citation Reports.
Humanities International Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.

Disciplinary Databases

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Collections include the Index to Film Periodicals Plus, Treasures from Film Archives, Documentation Collections, FIAF Affiliates' Publications, and Reference Works. Many of the key titles include full text articles.
International Index to Performing Arts [Selected Full Text] This link opens in a new window IIPA indexes more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Full text of articles is available for selected citations from 1998 forward. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
Gender Watch [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Contains full text, in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure.
Education Research Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history, including article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1550 to the present. All branches of world history are included political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious, and intellectual history, and the history of science, technology, and medicine. When articles, books, and dissertations are presented with historical perspective, the following related social sciences and humanities are also covered: area and interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, economics, psychology, sociology, art, literature, philosophy, education, and popular culture.
FRANCIS This link opens in a new window FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics. FRANCIS is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
Business Source Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window This is one of the best databases to search for scholarly literature on business research topics. The database contains indexing and abstracts for scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals back from 1886 to the present. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as core).

eBooks and Digitized Books

Project Muse ebook and ejournal collections This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.

Print Books/Monographs

The LAT Collection materials are located throughout different campus libraries including Thompson Library, 18th Avenue, Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum, Fine Arts Library (Wexner Center) and the off-site depository.

Books and other materials including CDs, DVDS, and more, can be found using the library's online catalog

Books, Print Magazines, and Journals can be found using the library catalog. Materials are organized using the Library of Congress (LOC) classification system. Below are a listing of call numbers associated with Spanish and Portuguese Languages

See the Columbia University Libraries Call Number Ranges for Latin American Studies or Call Numbers for Linguistics for a comprehensive list. Below is a library call number starting point.

Spanish: PC4001-PC4977

Portuguese: PC5001-PC5498

Literature:

PQ6001-PQ8929 Spanish Literature (Spain)

PQ7081-PQ8560 Spanish Literature of Spanish America

PQ7100-PQ7300 Mexico

PQ7471-PQ7539 Central America (alphabetical by country)

PQ7551-PQ8549 South America (alphabetical by country)

PQ9000-PQ9999 Portuguese Literature

Dialnet
Indexes primarily journals from Spain and Latin America. Many citations link to article abstracts and/or the full texts of articles.
RedALyc: Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal
Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe (CLASCO)
E-Revistas-Red Iberoamericana
LatAm-Studies- Estudios Latinoamericanos
CSIC base de datos bibliograficos
Latindex

Reference Sources

Oxford Bibliographies - Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window This resource offers annotated bibliographies and research guides on the subject of Latin American studies. It addresses the various disciplinary approaches to the study of this region including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science.
Oxford Bibliographies - Linguistics This link opens in a new window This resource offers annotated bibliographies and research guides on the subject of linguistics. It addresses the multidisciplinary nature of the study of language, touching upon the humanities, the social and behavioral sciences, biology, physics, engineering, and medicine.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window HLAS contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.

Search by DOI

OSU Library Links

OSU Libraries' Catalog

OSU Course Reserves (Textbooks)

Locations & Hours

Research Databases List

Online Journals List

Interlibrary Loan/Article Express

OhioLINK