Journalism

Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as core).

The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.

If your research topic touches on advertising or social media topics, it may be useful to take a look in Business Source Complete. This database includes both news and research articles.

LLBA is a linguistics database, but the research articles here may be of use for research topics in interpersonal communication or language-related topics.

Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes content relating to periodicals, newspapers, and journalism.