Research Guides: Political Science 4191: Political Science 4191 Supportive Resources

Associate Professor, Librarian for Communication & Political Science

Email Me

Contact:

1858 Neil Avenue
250B Thompson Library
614-292-9437
bussell.21@osu.edu

Subjects: Communications, Political Science

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
PSC provides indexing and abstracts for 2900 journals,and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals. Also includes reference works and professional conference papers. Coverage includes law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations
Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is multidisciplinary full-text database, including peer reviewed journals, newspapers, magazines, and trade publications.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010
JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Another great multidisciplinary resource covering humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
ProQuest Congressional [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
(1969-present) Find the full text for many bills, laws, legislative histories, info on members of Congress; federal regulations.

CQ Voting and Elections 1789-present
Offers analysis of elections, election results (national and state), and voter demographics. Also included are political maps and primary source documents.
Federal Digital System (FDSys)
Government Printing Office database for access to congressional publications (e.g. hearings, documents) U.S statutes, regulations (Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations), and more.

1. When researching an event or something related to your topic that happened very recently.

2. When you want to find out current events related to an ongoing topic.

3. Look for historic newspaper articles when you want to know how a topic was discussed at another point in time.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Access World News: Research Collection includes thousands of U.S. and global news sources. Content includes newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news videos and journalist-written blogs.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Various portions of the database are updated daily and most information is full text.
America's Historical Newspapers [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. For students and scholars of early America, this unique collection offers an unprecedented look back into the extraordinary history of the United States
America's Newspapers -- Ohio [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage for several major Ohio newspapers.

Where can I find data on my research?

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap captures data in visually powerful ways through custom demographic maps, tables, reports and an analysis tool, Analytics. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
Social Explorer
Provides demographic information about the United States, from 1940 to 2000.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research - Datasets
Comprehensive collection of public opinion survey datasets.