The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

AAAS 2201: Main Readings in African American and African Studies

This guide contains recommended resources for doing course research.

Welcome

Welcome to the AAAS 2201 Research Site, your information gateway for research, teaching, and learning. Feel free to contact me for your research and classroom needs.

                                                                        Leta Hendricks

Research Nexus

African-American Experience   Information HUB developed by African American academicians and Librarians. The African American Experience has a diverse collection of information available. Database contains a collection of primary and secondary materials including advertisements, books, court cases, images, maps, and statistics.

Black Studies Center  The Black Studies Center provides current and historical material for researching African-Americans, Africans in the Diaspora, and Mother Africa. The Database is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including access to scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and other materials. The Black Studies Center content includes “The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience,” “Index to Black Periodicals Full Text,” “Black Literature Index,” “The Chicago Defender 1912-1975,” “Handbook of African American Literature,” and “Encyclopedia of African Literature.”

The Black Studies in Video  The Black Studies in Video is a primary resource delivering a distinctive visual and timely documentation of Africans in America. This momentous collection features archives from The Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), and Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HCBU) documenting this era in American history.  The Black Studies in Video covers culture, family, history, politics, and other aspects of Africans in America.

Black Thought and Culture   Database is an assemblage of unpublished Africana material, including letters, speeches, essays, ephemera, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts; such as: “The Transcript of the Muhammad Ali Draft Evasion Trial,” “The Black Panther Newspaper,” and Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation multimedia materials. This database also includes previous published classic Africana titles; such as: “Souls of Black Folk,” “Post Soul Nation,” and “Sister Outsider.”

 Oxford African American Studies Center  A digital compendium of historical and cultural African and African American resources. Database features articles from Oxford's reference works, primary sources with specially written commentaries, images, maps, charts and tables. The core content includes: "African American National Biography," "Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, Second Edition," "Black Women in America, Second Edition," "Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass," "Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century," "The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature," "Oxford Companion to Black British History," "Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought," and "Oxford Dictionary of African Biography.”

African American and African Studies Librarian, Anthropology Librarian, and Comparative Studies Librarian

Leta Hendricks's picture
Leta Hendricks
Contact:
222B Thompson Library 1858 Neil Avenue Columbus, OH 43210
614.688.7478