Research Guides: ENG 4575--Literature and Culture of London (Study Abroad): OSUL and Internet Resources

Selected Databases--Newspapers and Periodicals

19th Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Index to United States newspapers published between 1800-1899.
19th Century British Library Newspapers [Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Includes 2 million newspaper pages from British national and regional newspapers. Complete runs of newspapers included when possible.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals 1800-1900 Series 2 This link opens in a new window
A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 73,000 publications, 68,000 personal names, 6,300 issuing bodies, 2,400 publishing towns, 23,000 title pages, 2,000 subjects.
London Low Life This link opens in a new window
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps, and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. In addition to the digital documents, London Low Life contains many secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries, and links to other useful websites.
John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include nineteenth-century entertainment, the booktrade, popular prints, crimes, murders and executions, and advertising.
British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.

Background/Reference/Tertiary Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to over 500 highly-regarded, scholarly reference books for all subject areas. Credo Reference also has the tools to find sources for further research and access thousands of images, charts, graphs and more.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.
Oxford Reference Online [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
The Core Collection contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographical essays focusing on all genres and time periods of American and British literature and selected other literatures. Essays discuss the lives and careers of authors and summarize critical responses to their work.
Oxford English Dictionary [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
This electronic text contains definitions for most English words, information on their origins, and quotations exemplifying their use over time. It provides access to the 2nd Edition (1989), its supplements, and draft entries from the New (Third) Edition currently in progress. Every entry is labeled according to the edition from which it has come.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The nation’s leading online resource for writing support, the Purdue University OWL (Online Writing Lab) is a comprehensive resource center and information outlet for all writers. From MLA bibliographic and citation formats to stasis theory and job search support, the Purdue OWL is a “go-to” site.
Writing Commons
Writing Commons is a web-based, “free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.” The resources in Writing Commons on visual rhetoric, textual analysis, and information literacy will be especially helpful in our course.

Selected Databases--Articles

JSTOR [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
Academic Search Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Humanities International Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history, including article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1550 to the present. All branches of world history are included political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious, and intellectual history, and the history of science, technology, and medicine. When articles, books, and dissertations are presented with historical perspective, the following related social sciences and humanities are also covered: area and interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, economics, psychology, sociology, art, literature, philosophy, education, and popular culture.

Selected Subject Headings

You can use the Library of Congress subject headings to search for books and e-books in the OSUL catalog.

Related Subject Guides

For a refresher on how to search the Libraries catalogs and databases, visit the welcome page of the Literature and Culture guide or review the ENG 2367 course guide.

English Studies
by Jennifer Schnabel Last Updated Feb 22, 2024 1537 views this year
ENGL 2367
by Jennifer Schnabel Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 365 views this year