The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

State and Local Government Statistical Resources

Federal Depository Library Program

Return to Government Documents and Information Home


Profile Image

Mary Ries
Contact:
211 Thompson Library
1858 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210-1285
Phone: 614-688-8770

 Federal Depository Library Logo

State and Local Statistical Resources

Besides the large national census and statistical reports, there is information available on the regional and local levels.  A lot of the information about states and smaller governmental units is obtainable from federal sources however each state and municipality also collects and publishes statistics on its residents.  Data is available in almanacs, statistical abstracts, and online resources.  The Bureau of Census as part of the Statistical Abstracts compiles a list of state statistical abstracts, which can aid in looking up information on the state level.  Local governments are less likely to publish the data they collect, but may post some information on their websites.  The larger the governmental unit, the more likely it is to publish data.   The following resources can aid in the search for statistical data on the local and regional level.

Almanac of the 50 States.  Burlington, VT.:  Information Publications.

Published annually since 1985, the Almanac provides profiles for each state, the District of Columbia, and U.S. Thirteen categories of statistics are provided including demography, vital statistics, education, housing, and the economy. Comparative tables rank the states on selected characteristics.

“Appendix D.  Guide to State Statistical Abstracts and State Information.”  State and Metropolitan Area Data Book:  2010.  p.D1-D6.  Washington, D.C.:  United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 2010.

Material somewhat dated, but gives contact information for state statistical agencies, plus the name of the state statistical abstract if there is one.  Information varies from state to state.

County and City Data Book.  Washington, D.C.:  U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census,1952-.

[1952-2007] | [2000] | [2007] | [CD-ROM]
Annual. Contains economic, demographic, governmental, etc. data for cities and counties from Federal Agencies primarily the Bureau of Census.

Local Governments.  (USA.gov)

Contact information for U.S. cities and other local governments.  Arranged by state with links to various web sites by city, county, etc.  Information available varies from state to state.

Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States.  Lanham, Maryland : Bernan, 2012-.

[2012-] | [Online]
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic condition of the U.S.  Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. When the Census Bureau in October 2011 stopped collecting data for the Statistical Compendium program and ceased publishing the Statistical Abstract, ProQuest took over publication.

QuickFact. (Department of Commerce. Census Bureau)

Access to statistics and facts about people, business, and geography for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.  Data available on state, county or municipal levels.

State & Local Areas. (Department of Commerce. Census Bureau)

Downloadable spreadsheets on the state and local levels derived from other census products.  Arranged in broad topical categories.  Data last updated in 2010.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book Lanham, Maryland:  Bernan Press, 2013-.

Provides statistical information about individual states, metropolitan and micropolitan areas, and their component counties. Topics covered include population, birth and death rates, health coverage, school enrollment, crime rates, income and housing, employment, transportation, and government.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book:  A Statistical Abstract Supplement. Washington, D.C.:  U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census:  For Sale by the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, 1980-2010. 

[1979-2010] | [2006 Online] | [1997-98]
Provides statistical information about individual states, metropolitan and micropolitan areas, and their component counties. Topics covered include population, birth and death rates, health coverage, school enrollment, crime rates, income and housing, employment, transportation, and government.

State Censuses;  An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States.  Henry J. Dubester.  Washington, D.C.:  U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948.

State-by-state description of every non-federal census.  Especially useful is the appendix telling where the existing records (some including names) were located; copies of many can be obtained commercially on microfiche

State Censuses;  An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States.  Henry J. Dubester.  New York, New York:  B. Franklin, 1969.

Reprint of 1948 edition.

State Census Records.  Ann S. Lainhart.  Baltimore, Maryland:  Genealogical Publishing, 1992. 

Overview of what is available in state census records, listed by state and sometimes by individual county.

State Government. (USA.gov)

Contact information for each state or territory.  Arranged alphabetically. Information available varies state to state, etc.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, DC:  GPO,  2011.

[-2011] | [Online]
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic condition of the U.S.  Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.  Published by the U.S. Census Bureau every year from 1878-2011.  When the Census Bureau in October 2011 stopped collecting data for the Statistical Compendium program and ceased publishing the Statistical Abstract, ProQuest took over publication.

Statistical Reference Index (SRI).  Bethesda, MD:  Congressional Information Service.   

[Index] | [Online] | [Microfiche]
Published since 1980, the SRI indexes and abstracts publications of state government agencies, universities and research centers, and nonprofit, trade, professional, and business organizations. Some tables are available online thru Proquest Statistical Insight, many can be found on microfiche.   OhioLINK membership required for accessing Proquest.

The 2011 Statistical Abstract:  State Abstracts.  (Department of Commerce. Census Bureau)

Material somewhat dated, but gives links and addresses for state statistical agencies, plus the name of the state statistical abstract if there is one and how frequently it is up dated.

USA Counties.  Washington, D.C.:  U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division, 1992-.

[CD-ROM] | [Online]
Includes all the data on counties from the last three issues of:  State and Metropolitan Area Data Book; and the last two issues of: County and City Data Book.  CD-ROMs may not be compatible with current operating systems.

Top