Non-Government Statistical and Data Resources

Non-Government Statistical and Data Resources

Many commercial, research, and nonprofit entities produce, compile, and publish statistical information. In some cases, these entities repackage data procured from government sources. Others provide data that is not available from other sources.  Associations often publish statistical information on their members and this information frequently is available in yearbooks or as special editions of association publications. The resources listed below are good starting points for locating statistics not typically found in government sources.

---

Resources

 

America Votes. Washington, DC:  Elections Research Center.

Published biennially since 1956, America Votes provides election statistics, by State, for national and gubernatorial elections.

 

Business and Economics Databases (OSU only)

Look in these databases for information on specific companies (profiles, SEC filings, etc.), market analyses, and rankings.

 

Encyclopedia of Associations.  Detroit, Michigan:  Gale Research Company.

Listing of national associations.  OSU Libraries holdings dated, but more current editions available at many public libraries.

 

Encyclopedia of Associations - International Organizations.  Detroit, Michigan:  Gale Research Company.

Listing of international associations.  OSU Libraries holdings dated, but more current editions available at many public libraries.

 

Encyclopedia of Associations - Regional, State , and Local Organizations.  Detroit, Michigan:  Gale Research Company.

Listing of regional, state and local level associations.  OSU Libraries holdings dated, but more current editions available at many public libraries.

 

Political Opinion & Survey Data Sources. (Princeton University. Princeton University Library)

Sources for national and international public opinion especially political data, etc.

 

Polling and Public Opinion Sources Online:  Home.  (Cornell University. Cornell University Library)

A list of online national and international opinion and polling data sources.

 

Public Opinion Surveys. (Cornell University. Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research)

Listing of Public Opinion survey resources and titles.

 

Reference Resources: Public Opinion Polls & Surveys. (Weber State University.  Stewart Library)

Listing of Public Opinion survey resources and titles. 

 

Religious Congregations & Membership in the United States Nashville, TN:  Glenmary Research Center, 2002. 

Data for 149 religious bodies enumerated by region, state, and county and nationally. Includes number of churches, mosques, synagogues, or temples; full members, attendees, and number and percentages of adherents.

 

Statistical Reference Index (SRI).  Washington, DC : Congressional Information Service.  

[Find in Library] | [Microfiche] 

Published since 1980, the SRI indexes and abstracts publications of state government agencies, universities and research centers, and nonprofit, trade, professional, and business organizations. OSU Libraries have the indices from 1980-2009, and the microfiche 1980-2009.

 

Statistical Summary. (The Ohio State University)

Basic statistics such as enrollment, tuition and fees, and number of employees.

 

US Religion Census. (Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies)

Originally conducted by the U.S. government, since 1990 the Census has been handled by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies. Data available from 2000 in ten-year increments. Web site includes links to other resources.

 

Need more help? OSU Libraries' Subject Specialists will be glad to assist you.

Top