Music & Dance

Nordic Music Collection

The Nordic Music Collection was established at Ohio State University in 1987 at the invitation of the eminent choral director Norman Luboff, a friend of OSU. From its beginnings, until his retirement, it was curated by Stephen Long, of the OSU Music & Dance Library staff. The Collection consists of approximately 2,500 items, primarily scores and recordings by contemporary composers from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden, though composers from previous periods are well represented. Many of the materials were donated to the Collection by the music information centers and music publishing houses in these countries. Nordic Music Collection materials circulate under standard local and interlibrary loan rules. All Nordic Collection materials are cataloged to AACR2 standards on OCLC. For a current list, click OSU Library Catalog : Nordic Music Collection.

Information centers and other sites

• Music Finland
• Iceland Music Information Center
• Music Norway
• Swedish Music Information Center
• Föreningen Svenska Tonsättare (Society of Swedish Composers)
• STIM - Swedish Composers' International Music Bureau

Publishers

• Samfundet (Society for the Publication of Danish Music)
• Gehrmans
• Fennica Gehrman (administers Fazer and Warner/Chappell Music Finland)
• Wilhelm Hansen

CD labels

Sweden

• Bis
• Caprice

Finland

• Ondine
• Alba

Denmark

• Dacapo
• Danacord

Norway

• Simax

International, with strong Nordic list

• CPO (Germany)

Composer biographies and work lists

• Swedish Music Information Center. Biographies (in Swedish and English) and virtually complete, up-to-date work lists of over 200 Swedish composers. Detailed annotations for individual works. Work lists include published scores, manuscripts, and sound recordings, including LPs. Click "Contemporary Classical," and then choose links to composer biographies, lists of works, or descriptions of works.
• Music Finland. Profiles in Finnish and English, full-text articles (with English translations), work lists, bibliographies, discographies, and photographs of over 125 composers.
• Music Norway. Biographies in Norwegian and English of nearly 100 composers.
• Iceland Music Information Center. Biographies and detailed work lists (in Icelandic only).
• Samfundet (Society for the Publication of Danish Music). Short biographies of contemporary composers.
• DaCapo Records. Biographies of Danish composers represented in the DaCapo CD catalog.