The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

East Asian Art

Locations in the Fine Arts Library

When you're searching for a book or another material in the Fine Arts Library, you'll notice that there are a few locations in the catalog. Here is a list with descriptions of these locations, so that you can more easily find what you're looking for.

(Mostly) Circulating Locations

Fine Arts Library Stacks

Regular collection of normally sized items, many monographs live here.

Fine Arts Library Oversized 2nd Floor

Oversized books in the circulating collection. May require assistance with compact shelving upstairs.

Fine Arts Library New Books

Small collection of new arrivals. Located to the right of the circulation desk in the modular shelving.

Non-Circulating Collections (Closed Stacks)

Fine Arts Library Closed Reserve

Behind the circulation desk. These materials can be checked out for a specific period of time and used in the library. Currently includes our collection of artist's books and media.

Fine Arts Library Fragile Books 

Upstairs on the 2nd floor. These items are in locked stacks, so you will need to ask a library staff member with assistance. Can be checked out to use in the library.

Fine Arts Library Fragile Books Oversized

Upstairs on the 2nd floor. These items are in locked stacks, so you will need to ask a library staff member with assistance. Can be checked out to use in the library.

Fine Arts Library Portfolio

Upstairs on the 2nd floor. These items in locked stacks, so you will need to ask a library staff member with assistance. They are quite old and/or rare and usually quite oversized as well. Can be checked out to use in the library.

 

Search OSU Library Catalog

 
 

What is this searching? The OSU Library Catalog searches for print, electronic and other formats in the OSU Libraries collections. More Search Options >>

Finding Books on East Asian Art in the Fine Arts Library

Using the book catalog, you're able to find books on any basically any subject you're looking for. To find books on art in Japan, for instance, a search that looks like this: 

 "japan" and "art" 

yields 3,910 results

You can do a similar search for "art" and "china" or "art" and "korea" in addition to using keywords to narrow your search by artist, movement, or specific region in any of those countries.

Screenshot of a library catalog search for art and japan

Library of Congress Classification for Art

The Library of Congress call number system designates that the letter 'N' represent the subject 'art', hence most of the books at the Fine Arts Library have call numbers beginning with N. For browsing, many materials related to East Asian art can be found in the N7300 section, but it is best to start with a specific call number if you are looking for a particular region or artist.

AM: Museum Studies

N: Visual Arts

NA Architecture

NB Sculpture

NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration

ND: Painting

NE Printmaking

NK: Decorative arts

NX: Arts in general, Mixed Media, Performance Art

PN: Art and Literature/Film

TR: Photography

Z: Books (General), Writing, Paleography, Book Industries and Trade, Libraries, Bibliography (This section also contains typography and history of the book).

Requesting Books

Publicly Available Digitized Material

If you are having trouble finding an older book or publication electronically, check both Hathi Trust and Internet Archive. Each of these databases has digitized books and other types of publications that have been made available from member institutions. There is a wealth of information in each that may help you in your research.

Some Books from the Collection

Hover your mouse over the title of each book to see a description. Click on the title to go to the full catalog record.