Research Guides: BUSMHR 7412 Competitive Analysis: Industry Analysis

Industry Reports

Many databases provide full industry reports that cover an overview of major considerations in an industry: industry outlook, market segmentation, major competitors, pending regulations, etc. These are a great starting point for background information on your industry.

IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
This is one of the most popular sources for industry reports. You can search by keyword, or by the name of a particular company in your industry, if you're unsure of the right industry keyword. OSU has access to US industry reports, specialized industry reports (often emerging industries), China industry reports, and Global industry reports. This database probably has the greatest breadth of coverage on U.S. industries, including some niche areas.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
NetAdvantage has a LOT of useful information - you'll see it elsewhere in this guide - but industry surveys can be accessed via a tab at the top of the homepage. These industry overview reports are usually 30-50 pages and include unique coverage regarding key industry drivers, financial metrics, Porter's Five Forces and sections on 'How the Industry Operates' and 'How to Analyze a Company in this Industry'. Coverage of industries is somewhat limited to large industries and generally global coverage. There is also a 'Research' tab in the top banner; this will give you access to analyst reports.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
There is a lot of information in this database as well, but First Research industry reports are a link right on the homepage. These reports include an overview, news, top related tweets, an industry forecast, and discussions of critical issues, business challenges and trends and industry opportunities. Also includes call prep questions, if you're going to have the opportunity to speak with someone in the field, and links to industry-related websites.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
This site provides information and national level data on over 100 industries in the United States, focusing on data regarding working conditions, employment, occupations and wages and labor productivity and costs.

Industry Classification

Some industry resources are organized or indexed by an industry classification number. It can be helpful to note this number when using some of the resources for industry research, in order to browse more effectively for relevant information.

North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Standard Industry Classification (SIC)
SIC is a system for classifying industries by a four-digit code. The NAICS was developed to replace the SIC code, but some resources still contain the SIC.