Research Guides: CHEM Upper Level/Grad: CHEM Upper Level/Grad (OSU Libraries)

CHEM Upper Level/Grad (OSU Libraries)

Chemistry Information Resources

OSU Libraries' Chemistry Resources (journals, e-books, how to use OSU Libraries)

Web Elements Periodic Chart

NIST Chemistry WebBook

ChemSpider

Questions/Comments/Requests

phone photo Call Us (614) 292-8463

envelope photo Email Us

chat boxes photo Chat with Us

generic book photo Recommend a Purchase

404 construction cone photo Why isn't this working?
Fix It!

Library Questions about Physical Sciences and Chemistry?

Science Librarians:
libscience@lists.osu.edu

General Questions: Ask Us Email

General Questions: 614-292-8463

18th Ave Library, Phone: 614-292-0211

Recommend a Purchase

Off-Campus Access to library resources

There are multiple ways to access library resources from off campus.
Information on e-book access

Search OSU Libraries' Catalog

Title Search Subject Search Author Search Libraries' Homepage

Popular chemistry e-textbooks

Keeping up on news and literature

Search for Journals

Using OSU Libraries

OSU Engineering Resources

OSU Chemistry Resources

OSU Physics and Astronomy Resources

OSU Course Reserves

Tips on:

Quick Links to Popular Databases

Web of Science (All Databases search) Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is a cross-searchable interface for numerous Thompson Reuters databases including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Derwent Innovations Index, and Journal Citation Reports.
Scopus Scopus is a citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track analyze and visualize research. Tools to sort, refine and quickly identify results help researchers focus on the outcome of their work.
IEEE Xplore [Full Text] Provides full text access to IEEE & IEE journal articles and conference papers from 1988 to present current IEEE standards selected IEEE pre-1988 content and IEEE periodicals cover-to-cover beginning in 2004.
SciFinder-N SciFinder, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. It's a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. Depending on your research, SciFinder is complementary to other databases like Reaxys, Web of Science, PubMed, Compendex and INSPEC. All OSU users must register through SciFinder Scholar Registration while on campus. Completion of registration requires the use of an OSU e-mail account (osu.edu, ohio-state.edu, or osumc.edu). Register here: https://bit.ly/2O3y2EG
SpringerMaterials SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-BÃ¶rnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.
SPIE digital library Collection of papers on optics and photonics from SPIE. Allows for access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings.
Reaxys Reaxys is a workflow solution for accessing the combined wealth of trustworthy, experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
arXiv.org [Full Text E-prints] Open access to 583,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
PubMed PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 15 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1950's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Article Express (ILLiad)

(through ILLiad)

Request free electronic delivery of journal articles not available through University Libraries' subscriptions.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

How to use the CRC

CRC Abbreviations

Do you have an ORCiD?

If you are publishing articles, you should have an ORCiD Identifier. Visit ORCiD for more information.

Tips for Scientific Writing

Writing a Bibliography

ACS Style Guide

Using Endnote