Only about 1/4 of our East Asian Collections are housed in Thompson Library. The remaining materials are housed in other locations such as the Fine Arts Library, the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum, and the Book Depository. Please, refer to the catalog for the specific location of any of the materials.
Thompson Library 2nd floor Grand Reading room balcony
Thompson Library 3rd floor Mezzanine (3M)
Thompson Library 1st Floor library Current Periodicals area. Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language materials have all been relocated to this 1st floor space.
Thompson Library 110 Leisure Reading area
Thompson Library 2nd floor Grand Reading room balcony
We maintain two blogs in Japanese Studies where we post news about new materials and resources such as eBook platforms, Special Collections, and other print and digital resources. Please check them out!
1. OSU Japanese Collection Blog: go.osu.edu/JapaneseCollection
2. Manga Blog: go.osu.edu/Manga
The National Diet Library (NDL) of Japan has one of the world's most ambitious program digitizing materials and collecting new digitized Japanese materials. One of its main services providing access to digital materials is the NDL digital collection, a set of growing databases that includes Books, Periodicals, Rare Books and Old Materials, Doctoral Dissertations, Official Gazettes, Modern Japanese Political History Materials, Materials on the Allied Occupation of Japan, online publications, and more. To access this extensive online collection, please visit https://dl.ndl.go.jp/?__lang=en
A -- General Works
B -- Philosophy. Psychology.
Religion
C -- Auxiliary Sciences Of History
D -- World History And History Of
Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Etc.
E -- History Of The Americas
F -- History Of The Americas
G -- Geography. Anthropology.
Recreation
H -- Social Sciences
J -- Political Science
K -- Law
L -- Education
M -- Music And Books On Music
N -- Fine Arts
P -- Language And Literature
Q -- Science
R -- Medicine
S -- Agriculture
T -- Technology
U -- Military Science
V -- Naval Science
Z -- Bibliography. Library Science.
Information Resources (General)
Have you ever wanted to look something up quickly online? Are you looking for sources that are more reputable than Wikipedia? Here are a few trustworthy "quick reference" sources we recommend when searching for basic information about Japanese people, terms, concepts, and events:
In English:
In Japanese:
日本大百科全書 (via the JapanKnowledge database)
Most North American academic libraries follow the Library of Congress' Japanese romanization rules. Many Japanese libraries use either Modified Hepburn or Kunreishiki romanization. Please see the following links for more information on various romanization standards.
What is this searching? The OSU Library Catalog searches for print, electronic and other formats in the OSU Libraries collections. More Search Options >>
What is this searching? The OhioLINK catalog allows searching and requesting of scholarly materials located in the 90+ college and university member libraries around Ohio, plus the State Library of Ohio. More Search Options >>
What is this searching? WorldCat@OSU searches across 7 key databases for books, articles, and more. More Search Options >>
What is this searching? The SearchOhio Catalog allows searching and requesting of popular books, DVDs, CDs and other materials from 20+ public library systems throughout the state of Ohio. More Search Options >>
Two number systems for years are commonly used in Japan:
OSU Libraries Guide to Academic Research
Choosing & Using Sources presents a process for academic research and writing, from formulating your research question to selecting good information and using it effectively in your research assignments.
© The Ohio State University - University Libraries
1858 Neil Avenue Mall, Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-OSUL (6785) | Fax: (614) 292-9101
Request an alternate format of this page | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
For all other requests, click Ask Us.