MATH 2168/MATH 4504

On this guide, you will find

1. This page:
   • Overview of planning and implementing a search strategy.
   • How to find books and videos using Libraries Search.
   • How to find journal articles using subject-specific and general databases.
   • Citing resources.
   • Pleases to get help.
   • Librarian contact info.
2. Pages on the tabs on the left will focus on:
   • General resources: Books covering mathematics history in general.
   • Popular Topics: Topics often chosen by students in the math history courses.
   • Mathematicians: Content about mathematicians.
   • Regions fo World & Time Periods: Content related to specific regions/countries and time periods.
   • Mathematics Education: Content on teaching mathematics content, with a history bent.
   • Something "Different": If you want to find something not as often chosen by students in the math history courses, look here! Some of these are VERY different.

Mathematics

MathSciNet is the major database to find content in the mathematics and statistics literature.  

MathSciNet has been Redesigned!

This redesign has ,ade significant changes to the way you search MathSciNet. The following tutorials will walk you through these changes:

• MathSciNet: Basic Search
• MathSciNet: Using Field Codes
• MathSciNet: Using Filters
• MathSciNet: Citing
• Example: Using MathSciNet's Updated Features to Explore Arithmetic Progressions 

You can still use the previous interface, see the Show Classic Interface link above the magnifying glass search button, to the upper right of the search box.

History

Education

Databases for Popular Topics

Other Topics & Tools

See our Subject Guides to find other search tools by subject area. These guides will have a subject librarian who you can contact for expert help in that area. Below are also some general databases you can use that cover most subject areas.

Google Scholar searches content from across most disciplines.

Use the above link to you can make sure Google Scholar works best for you on or off campus.  In order to better use it, connect it to OSU by going to Settings > Library links (on left) and then search for Ohio State. Check the option The Ohio State University Libraries - Find It @ OSU.

Important Citation Advice:

• If you are not required to use a specific style, pick a style and stick to it. 
• Some resources may provide a citation for you to use - these provided citations may be in different styles, so do not copy/paste without editing to be in the style being used.
• See below for options to get guides and tools for formatting bibliographies and proper citation methods.
• Choose a Citation Manager and stick with it. The OSU Libraries has access to RefWorks and EndNote. Zotero is a popular free tool. This guide will focus on RefWorks. A Citation guide allows you to organize your multiple research projects/courses and output bibliographies, also offering option to integrate into Wordd.
• ALWAYS check the quality of any output citation against the item used (not the database you found it in or another work's bibliography). No tool is perfect and another work's bibliography may have errors. 

Choosing Citation Styles in RefWorks

When you go to output your citation (click on the symbol that looks like quotation mark), you can choose a citation style from MANY different options. For example, you can search for American Geophysical Union (AGU) and then choose that option. You can click on the star so it's among your defaults.  

The most common citation styles are APA, MLA, and Chicago.

Accessing content found in library databases

If you are within one of our hundreds of databases, and the full text is not available there, look for this symbol (it may be under a section about access that requires you to click that label).

Clicking on this button checks for online access. If an item is not available online, you will get an option for interlibrary loan.

Note some tools may have a text-only version of Find It!, but it should behave the same way. Some items may have multiple access options (see the right side of the screen for additional options).

Accessing online content found via Libraries Search

In Libraries Search, after clicking on the title of an ebook, streaming video, article, or other item available online, look for the View Online section to find access options (there may be mulitple).

A journal article:

An ebook:

Example for a database:

Streaming video:

A magazine article:

Getting physical items (print books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) found via Libraries Search

You can go to the location where an item is or click Request to get it held for you at any OSU library location or sent to your office/dorm.

See our Libraries Search guide for details on using Libraries Search to find books, articles, videos, and more.

To see how to find specific items  (specific journals, databases, authors, etc.) or specific formats, see this page on the Libraries Search guide for help.

Libraries Search can be used to find books (both print books, ebooks, and some audiobooks).

To focus in on books, you can limit to books prior to searching by choosing it under Resource Type.

After a search, you can refine to books (under resource type) and specify you want content available online (e.g., ebooks).

You will see print books available across OSU and OhioLINK locations. You can refine to specify a specific library location for a print book, if desired.

In Libraries Search, use the following to find specific items:

Journal Title Search can be used in Libraries Search to search by journal title or ISSN. You can also browse by letter or category.

Databases Title Search can be used in Libraries Search to search by database title. You can also browse by letter or category.

Citation Finder can be used in Libraries Search to search for an article, book, or journal using a citation.

Browse By.... can be used in Libraries Search to search for items by title, author, call number, and other ways.

Libraries Search can be used to find streaming videos. After searching, use the refine options on the left to change the Resource Type to Video/Film. You can then specify content Available Online at the top of the refine options.