The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Music & Dance Library

About Us

We have CDs, videos, streaming media, vinyl, articles, scores, books. Trouble finding something? Visit the Music & Dance service desk on the second floor of the 18th Avenue Library and ask us! We're happy to help you.

18th Av. Library – Music & Dance: 2nd Floor

Search the OSU Library Catalog

Getting Started

Music Periodical Indexes

Music Index. Indexing and abstracts from more than 600 journals, selective coverage for more than 200 journals, dating back to 1970.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text. More than 240 full-text journals spanning 50 countries and 40 languages from the early 20th century onwards; updated monthly.

Music Periodicals Database (Formerly International Index to Music Periodicals). Indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals from many countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals, some as early as 1874.

RIPM - With Full TextIndexes more than 290 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and full text for nearly 200 rare primary source journals. New titles every six months.

Music Magazine ArchiveA series of digital collections focused on a number of popular music genres.

Rock's BackpagesInterviews, feature articles, reviews on pop music of many genres, 1950s to the present.

 

Multidisciplinary Periodical Indexes

JSTORFull-text articles on the arts and humanities, including important music and dance journals.

Web of Science Citation Index. Covers several major music and dance journals. Offers cited reference searching (find articles that cite a work or works by a particular author).

Dance Periodical Indexes
 
Performing Arts Periodicals Database.  Indexes several dozen dance periodicals from the 1970s to the present and offers indexes and abstracts of periodicals back to 1864. The full texts of recent issues of some dance journals are searchable through this database. 
 
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance. Includes full text for more than 100 journals, and citations, often with abstracts. Indexes articles, books, and dissertations on all aspects of theater and performance. Includes full content of the 14-volume print International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance.
 
New York Public Library Catalog. Includes dance periodical indexing from the late 19th century to 2001. (Do a keyword search, and then choose BOOK/TEXT in the left column.)

Library catalogs typically list books, recordings, scores, journal titles, microforms, electronic resources — everything but articles. To find articles, search printed indexes and online article databases. Scroll down for tips on searching.

OSU LibrariesBooks, sound and video recordings, scores, maps, microforms, journals, images, electronic resources, other materials owned by OSU.
OhioLINKA combined ("union") catalog of most Ohio college and university libraries. If an item is not available at OSU (not in our catalog, checked out, etc.), search for it in this database and make an online request to have it sent to you here. Most OhioLINK items arrive in three to five business days.
OCLC WorldCatIf you cannot locate an item in our catalog or in OhioLINK, search this union catalog of thousands of libraries around the world. Many items can be requested by interlibrary loan, and you can make the request on line.
SearchOhioThe catalog of a consortium of Ohio public libraries, SearchOhio makes more than 16 million books, audio and video recordings, and other items available. Most SearchOhio items arrive in three to five business days.
Columbus Metropolitan LibraryBooks, sound and video recordings, scores, maps, microforms, journals, images, electronic resources, other materials owned by the Columbus Metropolitan Library.
Library of Congress18 million books, journals, manuscripts, maps, scores, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections.
Additional Library CatalogsA directory of libraries worldwide. Each listing includes links to the library's website and catalog.
 

Tips on Searching Catalogs

You can search by KEYWORDS, but you may get more satisfactory results by AUTHOR, SUBJECT, or TITLE searching:

  • By dancer or company or choreographer (AUTHOR search). Examples: Baryshnikov, Mikhail or Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater or Tharp, Twyla
  • By "unique" title (TITLE or KEYWORD search). Examples: West Side Story or Billy the Kid (not generic titles like Symphony no. 1 or Concerto in D)
  • By dance type/form (SUBJECT search). Examples: ballets or tangos 
  • By instrumentation (SUBJECT or KEYWORD search), Example: flute and guitar music
  • By performers (AUTHOR search). Examples: Cleveland Orchestra or Nureyev, Rudolf

You can narrow the results of your search to sound recordings, videos, or books, etc., by first performing an AUTHOR, TITLE, SUBJECT, or KEYWORD search, and then choosing the LIMIT /SORT or MODIFY SEARCH option and selecting MATERIAL TYPE, then MUSIC RECORD (for recordings) or SERIAL/JOURNAL (for magazines) or BOOK, and then clicking FIND or SUBMIT.

Classical

Music Online: Classical Scores Library — More than 53,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. Approximately 4,600 composers are included, from Mozart and Tchaikovsky to contemporary artists, including Kaija Saariaho, Peter Maxwell-Davies, and John Tavener.

IMSLP - Petrucci Music Library — Approximately 315,000 items, including scores or parts of 94,000 works. IMSLP stands for "International Music Score Library Project." The library is named for Ottaviano Petrucci, printer in 1501 of the first book of polyphonic music set in movable type.

Project Gutenberg Sheet Music Project — Digitized public-domain sheet music, emphasis on chamber music.

Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music — A service of the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music, making available 17th-century music in modern editions for scholars, performers, and students.

The Morgan Library & Museum Music Manuscripts Online — High-quality images of music manuscripts owned by the Morgan Library & Museum. Works by Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Fauré, Debussy, Haydn, Liszt, Mahler, Massenet, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Puccini, Schubert, and Schumann, among others.

Public Domain Sherpa — A guide to finding and using free sheet music.

Free-scores.com — c.67,000 items. Free downloads of scores in many genres, links to vendors of scores and instruments, a music sheet music competition, links to other sites offering free sheet music downloads.

Musicnotes.com — c.300,000 downloadable items, only a few of which are free. Described as the world’s largest e-commerce sheet music retailer and publisher, providing licensed digital sheet music and guitar tablature to more than four million customers worldwide.

The Mutopia Project — c.1900 items. Free classical music scores based on editions in the public domain. Works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and others. Volunteers typeset the music and create the digital files.

Sheet Music Archive — c.22,000 classical music scores, some of which are free.

Sheet Music Online  — Free Public Domain sheet music downloads.

Artaria Editions — High quality sheet music editions of classical music. Buy printed products and download PDF files. 

Musopen — The site's stated goal is to be the largest online repository of free musical scores in the public domain. Musopen is a non-profit charitable organization.

Neue Mozart Ausgabe (complete)

Bach Digital Database (Leipzig Bach Archive) — High-resolution scans of nearly all of J. S. Bach’s works.

Jazz Lead Sheets and Chord Changes

Free Jazz Chord Charts That You Can Transpose — c.1300 chord charts of jazz standards that can be transposed to any key.

Jean-Luc Barbier Quartet: Les standards du Jazz — Website of Jean-Luc Barbier, saxophonist and jazz flutist. Contains the archives of his quartet from 1975 to1986.

eJazzlines — A large selection of jazz arrangements, including combo charts, jazz studio orchestra arrangements, vocals and instrumentals. Difficulty levels of easy to professional, classics from the dixieland and swing eras to jazz arrangements of current hits. Updated daily.

The Fake Book Library — A collection of musical lead sheets intended to help a performer quickly learn new songs.

Choral and Art Song

ChoralWiki : Choral Public Domain Library — CDPL was Founded in 1998, ported to ChoralWiki in 2005, and incorporated in 2010 as a tax-exempt charitable organization. Free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.

Art Song Central — Free sheet music, chiefly classical, for singers and voice teachers.

19th- and 20th-century Popular Song

Sheet Music Consortium — Tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.

Band

Chatfield Brass Band & Music Lending Library — The library is a member of the Southeast Minnesota Library System and lends music to bands and musicians from all over the world. Borrowers are charged a small handling fee to cover expenses. The library has collected and cataloged more than 30,000 pieces, many of which are no longer in print.The music collection not only includes band music (the largest portion), but also orchestra, dance band, sheet music, and numerous other categories.

BandMusic PDF Library — BandMusic PDF Library preserves and shares band music from the Golden Age of the American Town Band. If you are looking for public domain music to play with a school band, community band, or other group, you will find it here — marches, waltzes, rags, theater music, cornet solos, trombone features, and more.

Classical Music LibraryMore than 950,000 tracks, including almost 50,000 recordings from EMI. Browse by discipline, release date, language, label, performer.
Naxos Music Library (Classical)Includes among other labels the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogs: c.1.6 million tracks of classical, world, folk, and Chinese music.
Naxos Music Library (Jazz) c.100,000 tracks of jazz, and rhythm/blues.
Jazz Music LibraryThe largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available on line — thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, genres.
DRAM - Database of Recorded American MusicAmerican music largely ignored by commercial recording companies. CDs, LPs, broadcast tapes, archival recordings. Based on the catalogs of New World and Composers Recordings, Albany Records, Artifact Recordings, Cedille Records, Cold Blue Music, Deep Listening, Frog Peak Music, Innova Recordings, Mutable Music, Pogus Productions, and XI. Full liner notes, scholarly articles, other research materials. The DRAM Experimental Intermedia Archive includes Live Yasunao Tone and renowned experimentalist composers.
American SongHistorical collection of songs by and about miners, immigrants, Native Americans, slaves, children, pioneers, cowboys. Included are songs of Civil Rights and other political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and anti-war protests.
Smithsonian Global SoundSmithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, and other labels. Includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music at Rhodes University and material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology.
Contemporary World MusicReggae, worldbeat, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, neo-traditional, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music — Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku.
歴史的音源 Japanese Historical Recordings Collection (Rekion)Compiled by the Recording Industry Association of Japan, in cooperation with the National Diet Library, the collection consists of approximately 50,000 digitized recordings from 1900 to 1950. A fraction of these recordings are available to the public through the National Diet Library Online Collections, but most of the material is only available through libraries that have been granted special access. Click here for blog posts about the Collection. Accessible only from the Rekion workstation in Room 206.
Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicIncludes audio examples.

Met Opera on Demand. More than 550 full-length Met performances, in addition to telecasts from the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s, and hundreds of historic radio broadcasts back to 1935.

 

Dance in Video. Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

 

Medici.tv. A collection of c.1600 classical music videos: concerts, operas, ballets, archives, documentaries, artist profiles, educational programs.

 

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam. Concerts by one of the world's premiere ensembles.

 

Berlin Philharmonic Digital Concert Hall. Concerts by one of the world's premiere ensembles.

 

Jacob's Pillow Dance. Jacob's Pillow is a dance center and school in Becket, Massachusetts. It is the oldest internationally acclaimed summer dance festival in the United States.

 

Films on Demand. More than 20,000 titles and roughly half a million video segments.

 

Kanopy. More than 26,000 documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines, including music and dance. Titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, the BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films.

 

On the Boards. On the Boards theater is located in Seattle, Washington. Founded by artists in 1978, On the Boards introduces audiences to artistic innovators who are defining the future of dance, theater, and music on stage in Seattle and on the global screen.

 

Classical Music in Video. More than 1,500 performances by leading orchestras, chamber music and vocal ensembles, and solo artists, together with masterclasses and interviews.

 

Opera in Video. More than 500 hours of opera performances, including staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

 

Ethnographic Video Online. A comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.

Oxford Music Online

MGG Online. Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. It offers detailed articles on every aspect of music as well as on such related areas as literature, philosophy, and the visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as continuous updates and additions.
 

International Encyclopedia of Dance. Articles by scholars from many countries. Covers dance — theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.

Harvard Dictionary of Music Online

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

RILM Music Encyclopedias. 45 music encyclopedias in full text, including historical and current encyclopedias published between 1775 and the present.

Classical Music Reference Library. Includes Baker's Biographical Dictionary.

Bibliography of Music/Dance Reference Sources (MusRef)From Brigham Young University. Includes c.8,000 bibliographies and reference sources (print and digital), some 1,600 of which are annotated with critiques on use, coverage, organization, and pros and cons. Many entries also list published reviews for the corresponding sources. Regularly updated. Includes directories, dictionaries and encyclopedias, periodical indexes and other specialized indexes, bibliographies of music research, repertory guides, thematic catalogs, catalogs of music collections and exhibits, discographies, chronologies, and select histories and guides to music librarianship.

Oxford Bibliographies

OnMusic Dictionary

Index to Printed Music. Use this database to find individual pieces in complete works editions and anthologies (e.g., the M2 and M3 call number ranges). Searchable by title, composer, editor, genre, language, librettist, publisher, series, or instrumentation. The database lists sets and series organized by various criteria: composer (complete works: Gesamtausgaben), geographical area (Monuments: Denkmäler), period or style, original source (including manuscripts), anthologies.

Autumn Semester 2020, Service Desk Hours

Monday thru Friday: 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.

 

Click here for current week's hours.

 

175 West 18th Avenue, Second Floor · Columbus, OH 43210

614-292-2319

Music & Dance Library faculty and staff are always ready to help you. Ask us!

Alan Green (Head, Music & Dance Library) 614-292-2319 green.200 @osu.edu 

Sean Ferguson 614-688-0127 ferguson.36@osu.edu 

Jarod Ogier 614-292-8498 ogier.5@osu.edu 

Michael Murray 614-292-2319 murray.348@osu.edu

Gretchen Atkinson 614-292-2319 atkinson.6@osu.edu