The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Entomology

Resources to support study and research in entomology.

Citation Management Software

Citation management software allow a user to organize and retrieve information, such as citations for books, articles, and websites, by interfacing with library databases. The citation manager then works with word-processing software to insert properly formatted footnotes or citations into a paper and create a properly formatted bibliography.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open source, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. Zotero includes a plugin for Word, Google Docs, and other word processing software to let users to create bibliographies using over 7000 citation styles. Users can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero allows users to create or join groups to collaborate.

Read on for an overview of Zotero's features and capabilities (Quick start guide). Review these tutorials demonstrating many of the basic functions of Zotero. For further information on Zotero Syncing and space management, review this guide.

Learn how to optimize Zotero's settings to work with OSU's licensed materials and your citations.

ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib is a free tool that helps you to quickly build a bibliography from any computer or device without creating an account or installing software. To learn more about ZoteroBib's features read the ZoteroBib FAQ.

EndNote

EndNote is a research management software package that imports, organizes and stores the citations you find using research databases and library catalogs. EndNote also stores and organizes the full text of your references. EndNote integrates with Word to format citations and bibliographies instantly. 

Watch this tutorial for an overview of the most popular features in EndNote. Get started using EndNote by reviewing these training resources.

Learn how to optimize EndNote for use with OSU Libraries' resources.

EndNote is available at a discounted price from the OSU Tech Store, Tech Hub.

EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic is a limited functionality, web-based version of EndNote that can be used alone or with the EndNote desktop software. EndNote Basics imports, stores, and organizes citations, and formats citations and bibliographies using a Word plugin. EndNote Basic is available for free to all OSU students, faculty and staff. Users can create an account and access EndNote Basic via myendnoteweb.com, or through the EndNote link in Web of Science.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a desktop and web program for managing and sharing research papers, discovering research data and collaborating online. It combines Mendeley Desktop, a PDF and reference management application (available for Windows, OS X and Linux) and Mendeley for Android and iOS, with Mendeley Web, an online social network for researchers.

Learn how to use Mendeley's features with these short videos and tutorials.