Research Guides: PharmD Year One: Evidence Based Pharmacy Resources

Off Campus Sign-In

Definition

"Evidence based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research."

Sackett DL, Rosenberg WM, Gray JA, Haynes RB, Richardson WS. Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn’t. BMJ : British Medical Journal. 1996;312(7023):71-72.

Background Disease Information

Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window

Calculators

Diagnosis

JAMA Evidence - The Rational Clinical Examination Series
Over 40 articles studying the validity of individual components of the physical examination.

Evidence Based Practice Pyramid

©The Ohio State University. Illustration by Anthony Baker.

Evidence Based Medicine Focused Databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Preeminet EBM resource with systematic reviews and meta-analysis which interpret and summarize results of medical research. Provides a plain summary of findings.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Must log in from OSU for article access. PubMed Clinical Queries - Search by a clinical study category, find systematic reviews and run medical genetics searches.

TRIP Database
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use research evidence.

Practice Guidelines

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Repository of clinical practice guidelines created by government agencies, non-profit groups, and professional organizations. Custom e-mail alerts, guideline synthesis and guidelines comparison tool. From U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Select "Guidelines" under more beneath the main search box.

Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center Clinical Practice Guidelines

Pre-Appraised Evidence

FPIN Clinical Inquiries
Provides answers to clinical questions by using a structured search, critical appraisal, clinical perspectives, and rigourous peer review. Evidence for point of care use.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Effective Health Care Program
Research summaries on health conditions based on comparative effectiveness reviews.

Current Awareness

Dynamed Alerts
A free weekly e-newsletter that summarizes articles most likely to change clinical practice. Enter e-mail to subscribe.
Pharmacist's Letter
Covers developments in drug therapy and trends in pharmacy practice. The letter gives pharmacists short concise updates and advice. The detail-documents provide in-depth coverage answering many specific questions related to each topic including evidence based references. College of pharmacy affiliation required.
iForumRx
From the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. Presents "the Evidence that Informs Ambulatory Care Pharmacy."
NEJM Journal Watch
Summarizes the most important research, medical news, drug information and guidelines across a range of areas. Registering as a user provides access to free summaries published each week and free e-mail alerts in the specialities of your choice.
Evidence Updates
A service made available by the BMJ Group that incorporates the McMaster PLUS email alerting system and searchable database of best evidence from the medical literature. Registration required.

Introduction

Glossaries

Tutorials and Learning Tools

Pubmed Tutorials
Brief animated tutorials on using Pubmed efficiently.
Introduction to Evidence Based Practice
A tutorial providing a basic introduction to Evidence-Based Practice. From Duke University Medical Center Library.
JAMA evidence
Includes two textbooks, education guides, glossary, calculators, worksheets, question wizards, weekly RSS feed of featured JAMA articles, compiled clinical scenarios, podcasts, and user-level customization features.
McMaster University: Resources for Evidence-Based Practice
Has excellent sections on "About EBP" and "Forming Questions." OSU does not have all the resources listed.
EBP Education Center of Excellence
Resources for anyone interested in learning about evidence-based practice. From the Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library.
more...less...
Resources for fhealth care professionals and students interested in learning about evidence-based practice. From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library.