Research Guides: BUSML 4204: Marketing Projects: Getting Started

Local Business (and other) News

Factiva [Selected Articles in Full Text]
Global news aggregator database. Good in general for business news, but also has company dossier pages (all news connected to a company) and a good way to try to find info on a company if you're not finding it elsewhere (perhaps there are some news stories related to the company).

Passport GMID
In-depth reports on industries, economies and consumers. You can view detailed information on markets at a national level, and of particular use is unique analysis content with outlook information, etc.
Hoover's Online
Probably the easiest way to build a contacts list; can limit by company location (to county) and industry. Also includes potential market and industry research.

ReferenceUSA (Columbus Metropolitan Library)
You will need a Columbus Metropolitan Library card to use this database, but you should probably have one anyway! Business directory search can be limited by county + industry and easily downloadable up to 500 records.

eMarketer PRO
This database is focused on... eMarketing, but of note to you might be the fact that it breaks out B2B Marketing, Mobile, Sales and Social Media as focus industry areas. Potentially some useful analysis in there.
D & B Million Dollar Database
Another database to build a company contact list; can search by geography and industry; includes a few different characteristics as options to screen.
BCC Research
This database provides global market research reports, especially for STEM-related industries.

NetAdvantage
One of the best sources for in-depth company information, esp. financials and easy access to SEC filings.
Hoover's Online
One of the better bets for finding company information on private companies, though you aren't guaranteed anything if a company is private (they have to file very little).

Ohio Secretary of State Business Search
Private companies don't have to file almost anything other than filing Articles of Incorporation with the SOS (if they're a corporation). All this guarantees me is a name (who filed) and address, sometimes phone number, often dated.

Mergent Online [Selected Articles in Full Text]
Great source for in-depth company information; includes a 'Report Builder' tool for individual or comparison with competitor reports. Unique offering in 'Supply Chain' tab; see companies that are part of the supply chain in various lines.

Mintel Reports [Selected Articles in Full Text]
Potentially useful re: trends, etc. Good source of market and consumer analysis.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Popular source for US industry reports; includes industry outlook, pending regulations, drivers, etc.
Mergent Intellect
First Research industry reports. (Click icon on homepage.) These industry reports include trends, opportunities, critical issues, financial information and more.
BizMiner
Industry analysis and market research at a local level.

Contact:

Thompson Library 222C
1858 Neil Avenue Mall
Columbus, OH 43210

614-514-5935