Research Guides: Chemistry and Biochemistry: Chemistry & Biochemistry

Web of Science Web of Science searches over 10000 journals from over 45 different languages across the Sciences. Citation and literature from 1900-present. Also includes Derwent Index. (For Science and Engineering literature, limit to "Science Citation Index Expanded" under "More Settings." )
SciVerse Scopus SciVerse Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature with an emphasis on physical, life and health sciences. (1960-present)
SciFinder-n CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
More on SciFinder-n (registration, tutorials, ChemDraw)
Reaxys Reaxys is a chemistry database consisting of compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information and bibliographic data. Reaxys allows for structure or text searching.
Reaxys Training
Science of Synthesis Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry.
NIST/TRC Web Thermo Tables This web application provides access to a collection of critically evaluated thermodynamic property data for pure compounds with a primary focus on organics.
Biosis Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.
PubMed PubMed, a US government database, comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis is a database of >50,000 reactions and 3250 of the most frequently consulted reagents. It is searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc.
Organic Reactions Online resource for synthetic organic chemists which provides information about the most important and useful synthetic reactions, organized primarily by reaction type. Each major component contains a critical discussion of the featured type of reaction as well as a step-by-step guide to performing it. The online version of Organic Reactions has been a regularly updated online database since 2003 and is available as either an electronic major reference work (eMRW), or a fully-featured database product with a set of advanced tools for structure/sub-structure and reaction searching
Springer Materials (includes Landolt-Bornstein) Springer Materials (aka Landolt-Bornstein)is a resource for Physical & Chemical Data in Materials Science: 250,000 Substances & Material Systems, 3,000 Properties, and 1,200,000 Literature Citations.
SPIE Digital Library The SPIE Digital Library is a collection of papers on optics and photonics from SPIE. Allows for access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings.
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database ICSD is the world’s largest database for fully identified inorganic crystal structures. It is produced by FIZ Karlsruhe and currently contains about 188,000 crystal structures. Updates are made twice a year (in spring and in fall) with data taken from scientific journals and other sources.
Embase Embase is an abstract and Indexing (A & I) database covering over 8,400 journal titles, 29 million articles back to 1947, all disciplines of medicine and biomedical science, and includes substantial coverage of Allied Health subjects.
American Science and Technology 1664-1819, Historic Database More than 7,000 works about early American Science and Technology 1663-1819, featuring text and data analysis tools, author biographies, and suggested search paths for easy browsing and discovery.

Shown below are some popular science, chemistry, and chemical engineering journals available through OSU Library subscriptions for online access. For a complete listing of all OSU Library e-journals, visit the OSU Libraries' Online Journals List (or search for print and e-journals in the OSU catalog.) More info on e-journals

For e-textbooks, please scroll down page.

Shown below is a small sampling of available e-reference books. Some of these eBooks are available through our subscription to Knovel, a collection of science and engineering eBooks,which allows full-text searching of all titles. SpringerLink is an additional valuable resource for eBooks. SpringerLink eBooks will appear in the OSU catalog, but there is a delay between acquisition and appearance in the catalog. Therefore, going directly to the SpringerLink site is advised. The National Academies Press makes all its books freely available.

All OSU eBooks (and print books) are searchable by title through the OSU Library Catalog.

OSU has access to many e-dissertations and theses through Proquest. (For best results, use the Advanced Search.)

Details for finding dissertations and theses from all over the world (including OSU).

About Data:

Data Management Basics

DMP Tool (software for creating data management plans)

Data Repositories (find and/or store data):

Dryad

Cornell Data Storage Finder

PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service)

Open Access Directory Data Repositories

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)

Popular chemistry e-textbooks

Note: Some e-texts have a restriction on the number of simultaneous users.

Graduate Students

General resources for science and engineering graduate students (copyright, scientific writing, etc.) can be found at the General Resources for Graduate Students in the Physical Sciences and Engineering.

(through ILLiad) Request free electronic delivery of journal articles not available through OSU Libraries' subscriptions.

If you are publishing articles, you should have an ORCiD Identifier.

orcid icon More on ORCiD

OSU holds a site license for LabArchives electronic lab notebooks, available to all faculty, staff and students.
Instruction Material for LabArchives

Federal Agency Public Access Plans

The U. of Wisconsin's Ebling Library provides up-to-date, user-friendly information on Federal Agency Public Access Compliance (arising from US OSTP Memo of February 2013 which requires open access publishing of research funded by US Gov agencies).

May I post my articles on my private webpage??

The SHERPA/RoME O site provides a quick and easy way to determine publisher copyright and self-archiving policies for virtually all journals. Simply search by journal title to see specific rules pertaining to a given journal.