Research Guides: Mathematics & Statistics: Other Recommended Sources

Recommended Sources

MathWorld - Large online encyclopedia with information on hundreds of mathematics topics.
McGraw-Hill dictionary of mathematics (ebook, limited to 1 user at a time)
The Cambridge dictionary of statistics (e-book)
The Cambridge dictionary of statistics (e-book)
The concise encyclopedia of statistics (e-book)
Encyclopaedia of mathematics (print)
Encyclopedia of statistical sciences (print)
Encyclopedia of biostatistics (print)
Handbook of mathematics for engineers and scientists (e-book)
Glossary of Statistical Terms
The Facts on File dictionary of mathematics (print)
The universal book of mathematics : from abracadabra to Zeno's paradoxes (print)
The Oxford handbook of the history of mathematics (print)
Companion encyclopedia of the history and philosophy of the mathematical sciences (print)

Streaming videos:

Films on Demand (Search a wide range of documentary/instructional style video)
Story of 1: How a Single Digit Created Math and Changed the World (This video traces the development of numbers and tells the entire story of 1 and how, with 0, it has come to dominate society through digital technology.)
The Math life (This elegant program brings to life the human dimension of mathematics through lively interviews with several mathematicians.)
The Mayans (This video discusses various aspects of the Mayans, including their advances in mathematics)
The Historic Memory (Discusses various aspects of the history of the Arab world, including achievements in mathematics.)
The Pure Radiance of the Past (Discusses various aspects of architecture, including the mathematics involved with perspective.)
I.M. Pei (Architect I.M. Pei discusses architecture, including mathematical concepts relating to various structures.)

DVDs:

You can view at the 18th Avenue Library or check out for viewing elsewhere.

Story of 1: How a Single Digit Created Math and Changed the World (This video traces the development of numbers and tells the entire story of 1 and how, with 0, it has come to dominate society through digital technology.)
The Math Life (This elegant program brings to life the human dimension of mathematics through lively interviews with several mathematicians. Also available online.)
A Brillian Madness (This PBS biography focuses on the life of mathematician John Nash (who is the basis of the film A Beautiful Mind.)
Culture and Math: The Chinese
Culture and Math: The Indus Valley
Culture and Math: the Age of Exploration
Culture and Math: the Arabs
Culture and Math: the Egyptians
Culture and Math: the Greeks
Culture and Math: the Moors of Spain
Culture and math: the Maya

Calendar of Mathematical Conferences

Search for conference meetings

Story of 1: How a Single Digit Created Math and Changed the World (online video)

This video traces the development of numbers and tells the entire story of 1 and how, with 0, it has come to dominate society through digital technology. (also available on DVD)

curiousmath

A site where you will find questions, problems, solutions, interesting information, articles, and more. Access is free, but you must register to post information.

Unsolved Problems

Read about unsolved mathematics problems on this MathWorld page - perhaps you'll find a solution!

The Set Game Company Homepage

A site with a new Set Game each day

The Mathematics Genealogy Project - Welcome!

Find out information about mathematicians, including degree information, advisors, and more.

The English name of a number

Different ways a number can be written out in words

Mathematical Quotation Server

Find quotes about mathematics and by mathematicians.

Math jokes collection by Andrej and Elena Cherkaev

A collection of math jokes