ProQuest Historical Newspapers [Full Text]This database offers full text including images for several prominent newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, together in a searchable interface. Coverage includes:
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)
NewsVaultNewsVault is a cross-searching interface for exploring the collection of Gale historical newspapers, including 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, and Times Digital Archive.
American PeriodicalsThe American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940 collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1940. Deriving from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
African American Periodicals 1825-1995Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
Newspaper collections listed on the History Resources Guide, categorized by country/region of publication.
Digital Primary Sources
Black Thought and CultureBlack Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. Content includes letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
Associated Press Collections OnlineThis resource includes decades of wire copy, correspondence, memos, and internal publications from Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive. Content includes the News Features & Internal Communications collection and the U.S. City Bureaus Collection.
Everyday life & women in America: c.1800-1920 / from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History & Culture, Duke University, & the New York Public LibraryThis digital collection is an unparalleled resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
America: History and LifeProvides articles abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to present.  Articles are abstracted from more than 2,400 journals published in approximately 40 languages.
Historical AbstractsA bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history, including article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1550 to the present. All branches of world history are included political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious, and intellectual history, and the history of science, technology, and medicine. When articles, books, and dissertations are presented with historical perspective, the following related social sciences and humanities are also covered: area and interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, economics, psychology, sociology, art, literature, philosophy, education, and popular culture.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index RetrospectiveThis database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson's International Index. With its breadth and depth, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 makes important periodicals in the library's collection more accessible—and valuable—to researchers.