The Great Migration and Lynching

The HistoryMakers Digital Archive

The HistoryMakers: Documenting untold stories of African American achievement Julieanna Richardson's organization is documenting the breadth of the Black experience in America, one story at a time.www.cbsnews.com

Librarian's Choice

The HistoryMakers Digital Archive  This online African American oral history video archive contains full-text and video interviews with distinguished members of the African American community and contributors to the global society. The collection includes interviews of President Barack Obama, Julian Bond, Marian Wright Edelman, and artist Leon Stull, Marvel Comics graphic artist. Database functions include: captioned video playback, video clip creation, and searchable transcripts.

Welcome to the African American and African Studies Research Site, your information gateway for research, teaching, and learning.  Feel free to contact me for your research and classroom needs.                                                                                         Leta Hendricks

Africa Commons Global portal platform features Africana cultural and historical materials.  Database includes art, books,  comics, correspondence, diaries, government documents, ephemera, magazines, manuscripts, music, newspapers, oral histories, periodicals, photographs, posters, and a variety of multimedia formats.  A majority of the materials collections are held and maintained by archives, libraries, repositories, and African heritage institutions.

African Diaspora, 1860-Present  Primary Source database provides content on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.

African-American Experience  Information HUB developed by African American academicians and Librarians. The African American Experience has a diverse collection of information available. The database contains a collection of primary and secondary materials including advertisements, books, court cases, images, maps, and statistics.

Black Life in America  Black Life in America is a news media archive that provides access to African American newspapers and other primary source materials. This database is an excellent resource for studying African American culture, daily life, history, politics, and social justice.  

Black Studies Center  The Black Studies Center provides current and historical material for researching African-Americans, Africans in the Diaspora, and Mother Africa. The Database is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including access to academic journals, scholarly essays, popular periodicals, historical newspapers, reference books, and primary materials. The Black Studies Center content contains “The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience," the "Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP)," the "Black Literature Index, the "Black Abolitionist Papers." and “The Chicago Defender 1912-1975.”

Black Studies in Video  The Black Studies in Video is a primary resource delivering a distinctive visual and timely documentation of Africans in America. The Black Studies in Video covers culture, family, history, politics, and other aspects of Africans in America.

Black Thought and Culture   Database is an assemblage of unpublished Africana material, including letters, speeches, essays, ephemera, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts; such as: “The Transcript of the Muhammad Ali Draft Evasion Trial,” “The Black Panther Newspaper,” and Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation multimedia materials. This database also includes previous published classic Africana titles; such as: “Souls of Black Folk,” “Post Soul Nation,” and “Sister Outsider.”

The HistoryMakers Digital Archive  This online African American oral history video archive contains full-text and video interviews with distinguished members of the African American community and contributors to the global society. The collection includes interviews of President Barack Obama, Julian Bond, Marian Wright Edelman, and artist Leon Stull, Marvel Comics graphic artist. Database functions include: captioned video playback, video clip creation, and searchable transcripts.

Oxford African American Studies Center  A digital compendium of historical and cultural African and African American resources. The database features articles from Oxford's reference works, primary sources with specially written commentaries, images, maps, charts and tables. The core content includes: "African American National Biography," "Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, Second Edition," "Black Women in America, Second Edition," "Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass," "Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century," "The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature," "Oxford Companion to Black British History," "Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought," and "Oxford Dictionary of African Biography.”

ProQuest Black Studies  The ProQuest Black Studies database contains content from the Black Studies Center, Black Studies in Video, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest History Vault and other ProQuest databases.  African Diaspora Primary Source Materials is the featured ProQuest module.