The Ohio State Universities | University Libraries | Resource Guides

Citation Help

Resources for citation style guides and citation software management

Council of Science Editors (CSE) Style Guide

This guide is based on Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th edition (Reston, VA : Council of Science Editors in cooperation with the Rockefeller University Press, 2006). The developers of this citation style were formerly known as the Council of Biology Editors (CBE). Examples are provided in Name-Year format. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Items are referred to in the body of the paper using the In-Text style. If none of these examples seem appropriate, consult the CSE Manual available in the Reference collections of many OSU Library locations (T11 S386 2014).

CSE Style was originally established for the biological sciences.  It uses alpha references within the text.  Many physical and engineering citation styles use numeric references within the text and are based on the American Chemical Society Style.

CSE Style Guide

The developers of this citation style were formerly known as the Council of Biology Editors (CBE). Examples are provided in Name-Year format. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. These items are referred to in the body of the paper using the In-Text style.

Journal Article (Print)

Bibliography:
Meise CJ, Johnson DL, Stehlik LL, Manderson J, Shaheen P. 2003. Growth rates of juvenile Winter Flounder under varying environmental conditions. Trans Am Fish Soc 132(2):225-345.

In-Text:
(Miese et al. 2003)


Journal Article (Electronic, from OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center)

Bibliography:
Parmentier H, Golding S, Ashworth M, Rowlands G. 2004. Community pharmacy treatment of minor ailments in refugees. J Clin Pharm Ther [Internet] [cited 2007 Jul 24]; 29(5):465-469. Available from: http://journals.ohiolink.edu/ejc/pdf.cgi/Parmentier_H.pdf?issn=02694727&issue=v29i0005&article=465_cptomair

In-Text:
(Parmentier et al. 2004)

 

Journal Article (Electronic, from Journal Publisher's Website)

Bibliography:
Leng F, Amado L, McMacken R. 2004. Coupling DNA supercoiling to transcription in defined protein systems. J Biol Chem [Internet]. [cited 2007 July 24]; 279(46):47564-47571. Available from: http://www.jbc.org/cgi/reprint/279/46/47564

In-Text:
(Leng et al. 2004)


Journal Article (Electronic, from Online-Only Journal)

Bibliography:
Hong P, Wong W. 2005. GeneNotes: a novel information management software for biologists. BMC Bioinformatics [Internet]. [cited 2007 Jul 24]; 6:20. Available from: http://www.biomedcentral.com/1471-2105/6/20

In-Text:
(Hong and Wong 2005)

The developers of this citation style were formerly known as the Council of Biology Editors (CBE). Examples are provided in Name-Year format. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. These items are referred to in the body of the paper using the In-Text style.

Book:

Bibliography:
McCormac JS, Kennedy G. 2004. Birds of Ohio. Auburn (WA): Lone Pine, p. 77-78.

In-Text:
(McCormac and Kennedy 2004)


Book Chapter (or Other Part with Different Author)

Bibliography:
McDaniel TK, Valdivia RH. 2005. New tools for virulence gene discovery. In: Cossart P, Boquet P, Normark S, Rappuoli R, editors. Cellular microbiology. 2nd ed. Washington (DC): ASM Press. p. 473-488.

In-Text:
(McDaniel and Valdivia 2005)

 

E-Book

Bibliography:
Rollin, BE. 1998. The unheeded cry: animal consciousness, animal pain, and science [Internet]. Ames (IA): The Iowa State University Press;  [cited 2007 Aug 27]. Available from: http://www.netlibrary.com.

In-Text:
(Rollin 1998)

The developers of this citation style were formerly known as the Council of Biology Editors (CBE). Examples are provided in Name-Year format. Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. These items are referred to in the body of the paper using the In-Text style.

Web Page

Bibliography:
Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) [Internet]. [updated 2007 Feb 27]. Columbus (OH): Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Forestry; [cited 2007 Jul 24]. Available from http://www.dnr.state.oh.us/forestry/health/eab.htm

In-Text:
(Emerald Ash Borer ... [updated 2007])


Conference Paper

Bibliography:
Clarke A, Crame JA. 2003. Importance of historical processes in global patterns of diversity. In: Blackburn TM, Gaston KJ, editors. Macroecology: concepts and consequences. Proceedings of the 43rd annual symposium of the British Ecological Society; 2002 Apr 17-19; Birmingham. Malden (MA): Blackwell. p. 130-152.

In-Text:
(Clarke and Crame 2003)

 

Conference Abstract

Bibliography:
Swanson TA, Blair P, Madigan L. 2004. Reduction in medication errors through redesign of the medication use system [abstract]. In: American Society of Health-System Pharmacists 39th midyear meeting; 2004 Dec 5-9; Orlando. Bethesda (MD): American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. MCS-28.

In-Text:
(Swanson et al. 2004)


Dissertation/Thesis

Bibliography:
Dettmers JM. 1995. Assessing the trophic cascade in reservoirs: the role of an introduced predator [dissertation]. [Columbus (OH)]: Ohio State University. p. 7-14.

In-Text:
(Dettmers 1995)

 

Technical Report

Bibliography:
Ford PL, Fagerlund RA, Duszynski DW, Polechla PJ. 2004. Fleas and lice of mammals in New Mexico. Fort Collins (CO): USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station. General Technical Report No. RMRS-GTR-123.

In-Text:
(Ford et al. 2004)

Loading ...