Research Guides: INTSTDS 4850: --Eastern Europe

Resources on Eastern Europe

The World Summit on Sustainable Development
See chapter 9 -Sustainable Development-A New Challenge for the Countries in Central & Eastern Europe
Environmental Transitions
See chapter 11- Nature in post-communist societies

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
View thematic maps corresponding to climate, energy, ethnography, land use and more.

Explore these print source(s) for more information

Mobility in Transition
See chapter 9 - Why do highly educated migrants go for low-skilled jobs?
The Border Multiple
See chapter 7 - The Multiple Politics of Borders: Images of the Slovenian-Croatian Border on Istria from the Perspective of an Ethnographer on the Move
Extreme Politics
See chapter 8 - Migration, Institutions, and Ethnicity

Explore these print sources for more information

The Economic Sources of Social Order Development in Post-Socialist Eastern Europe
See chapter 4- The international economy and political economy in the post-socialist region: An historical review, and explore additional chapters
Civil Society and the Professions in Eastern Europe
Read the introduction - The Goading of History: A comment on Political-Economic Development in Eastern Europe and explore other chapters
The Economic Sources of Social Order Development in Post-Socialist Eastern Europe
See chapter 2- Economic structure, the international economy and social order development
The Economic Sources of Social Order Development in Post-Socialist Eastern Europe
See chapter 5- Economic structure, the international economy and the collapse of the Soviet Union

Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion. / Volume 9, East Europe, Russia and the Caucasus
The Fall of the Iron Curtain and the Culture of Europe
Chapter 9 - Neither East nor West: Polyphony and deterritorialization in contemporary European fiction

Chapter 10 - The fall of the Iron Curtain and the new linguistic landscape of East-Central Europe"
European Legal Cultures in Transition
See chapter 10 - The role of religiosity in European popular legal cultures
Global Trends in Eastern Europe
See chapter 3- Individualism versus the Common Good
Eastern Europe
View pictures of Eastern Europe

Global Trends in Eastern Europe
See chapter 1- Globalization and Regional Development: Social Reality and Social Science Concepts
The Democratic Transition of Post-Communist Europe
See chapter 1 - Socio-Economic and Political Facts on Post-Communist Transition
Extreme Politics
See chapter 5- Post-Postcommunism: Is There Still an 'Eastern Europe'?

The role of Central Europe in the German economy: the political consequences
A report by the Centre for Eastern Studies (OSW)
BBC Country Profile-Russia
A country profile of Russia developed by BBC Monitoring, a service of the BBC that translates and analyses news and information from freely available media sources around the world. Explore other country profiles through this service.

Radio Free Europe
RFE/RL journalists report the news in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. See links at top to regions of Europe and beyond.
The Centre for Eastern Studies (OSW)
The Centre for Eastern Studies (OSW) is an independent public research institution monitoring the events and analysing the socio-political and economic processes taking place in Russia, Germany, Ukraine, Belarus, the Baltic states, the Visegrad Group states, the Balkan states and Turkey.

Universal Database of Russian Newspapers [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
Full-text files of over 30 of the most influential Russian newspapers are accessible online for browsing, searching and analyzing. Each day some 900-1000 new articles are added to the database. Over 450,000 articles are available to date.

Lexis Nexis Uni
Provides access to US and international newspapers, legal materials, selected periodicals and reference sources.

European Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Center for Slavic and East European Studies
The Center for Slavic and East European Studies organizes lectures, film screening, and other events throughout the semester. All events are open to OSU faculty, students, and staff.