Humanities International Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text]This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowIndex to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics. Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic NovelsThis link opens in a new windowPrimary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
Victorian Popular CultureThis link opens in a new windowVictorian Popular Culture is a resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. It contains printed and visual material as well as artefacts. The resource is divided into four sections: Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic.
Pop culture universe: icons, idols, ideasThis link opens in a new windowCreated as part of the ABC-CLIO online resource, this Web site is a database that invites visitors to explore a variety of topics related to American pop culture. Browse through information on American pop culture by decade and more. In addition, learn about the history of music, fashion and entertainment in the United States.--Publisher description
Communication & Mass Media Complete [Selected Articles in Full Text]This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as core).
John Johnson CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include nineteenth-century entertainment, the booktrade, popular prints, crimes, murders and executions, and advertising.
Paul S. Powers Papers (Western pulp fiction)Author Paul S. Powers (a.k.a Ward Stevens) was a Western pulp fiction writer active during the 1920s through 1940s. He is the creator of the fictional characters Sonny Tabor and Kid Wolf. The Paul S. Powers Papers consist of correspondence, original story and book manuscripts, photos, journals, reviews, artwork, newspaper articles, scrapbooks and a radio transcription, spanning 1870s-2007.
The Mysterious Press ArchiveThe Mysterious Press was founded and edited by Otto Penzler who is universally deemed the world’s foremost authority on and publisher of mystery fiction
Lin Carter Literary Archive (fantasy and sci fi)Lin Carter (1930-1988) was a noted American fantasy and science fiction author, anthologist, and critic who wrote over fifty novels, compiled over 25 anthologies, and authored multiple critical studies of the science fiction and fantasy genres.
