Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literature Research Guide

Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile).

CountryWatch provides information and news on countries around the world focusing on political, economic and business sectors. Country Reviews include political, economic, investment, social and environmental overviews and reports can be downloaded in PDF format. Other resources within the database include political briefings, country forecasts, elections information and more.

In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe. Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe for the modern researcher as well as growing archive of news.

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia

Access World News: Research Collection includes thousands of U.S. and global news sources. Content includes newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news videos and journalist-written blogs.

Factiva provides access to global new content covering nearly 8,000 sources, including Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal. Coverage includes multilingual content and the option to limit keywords searches to particular regions, publications, or with reference to a particular industry. One can also access company profiles that show all the news associated with a particular company. Limit of five simultaneous users.

Offers current issues of newspapers in the original form from all over the world.

Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as core).

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text database of newspapers published by and for leading American ethnic groups, and provides information on topics not covered by the mainstream press. Additionally, it provides ethnic perspectives of topics of national interest that may vary from what is presented in the mainstream press.