This page contains topics beginning with N - Z. For topics starting with A - E see Hot Topics A-E. For topics starting F - M see Hot Topics F-M. Inclusion of a site below does not mean that OSU Libraries or The Ohio State University endorse the sites or the information they contain.
Continues Hot Topics (Topics A-E) and (Topics F-M)
N O P Po Q R S Sc T U V W X Y Z
Natural Disasters
- Be Prepared for a Tornado. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Homeland Security, FEMA, March 2018. Quick guide for what to do before, during, and after a tornado.
- Consumer Tips for Post-disaster Home Restoration: Getting Back to a Healthy Home. Washington, D.C.: Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Lead Hazard Control and Healthy Homes, 2015.
- A Consumer's Guide to Food Safety: Severe Storms and Hurricanes. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Inspection Service, January 2020. Quick guide to keeping food safe during a serve weather events and how to check the safety of various food products after power outages and/or floods. Information is also available in Spanish from the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service.
- How to Prepare for an Earthquake. Washington, D.C.: FEMA, 2014. Available also in Spanish.
- How to Prepare for a Hurricane. Washington, D.C.: FEMA, 2017. Available also in Spanish.
- How to Prepare for a Tornado. Washington, D.C.: FEMA, 2014. Available also in Spanish.
- How to Prepare for a Wildfire. Washington, D.C.: FEMA, 2014. Available also in Spanish.
- Putting Down Roots in Earthquake Country: Your Handbook for the San Francisco Bay Region. Reston, Virginia: U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, May 2007.
- Ready, Set, Go!: Your Personal Wildfire Action Guide. New Mexico. McLean, Virginia: International Association of Fire Chiefs ; Washington, D.C.: USDA Forest Service, 2018.
- Safe Rooms for Tornadoes and Hurricanes: Guidance for Community and Residential Safe Rooms. 4th Edition. Department of Homeland Security, FEMA. Washington, D.C.: FEMA, April 2021.
- Taking Shelter from the Storm: Building a Safe Room for Your Home or Small Business. U.S. Department of Homeland Security, FEMA. 5th Edition. Washington, D.C.: FEMA, March 2021.
- Your Disaster Checklist. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Washington, D.C.: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2013. Also available in Spanish (2019 version).
- See also Emergency Management, Public Safety, and Terrorism
- See also Safety
- See also Weather
News
- Google News Newspaper Archive. (Google) Links to archived selected newspapers U.S. and foreign.
- Historical American Newspapers. (Library of Congress). Access to pages from newspapers (1860-1922), and information about newspapers published 1690-present.
- Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals. (Association of College and Research Libraries) Links arranged by language, then broken down by indices, guides, and websites.
- List of Television Networks by Country. (Wikipedia) With links to lists by format type for the U.S.
- National Digital Newspaper Program in Ohio. (The Ohio History Connection) Searchable database of microfilmed Ohio newspaper held by the Ohio History Connection (formerly the Ohio Historical Society.) Over 415,000 digitized pages from 176 Ohio newspaper listed by title of the newspaper. Can be organized by title, city, county, or date of coverage among other criteria. Content also available in the Library of Congress's Chronicling America National Digital Newspaper Program.
- Newslink. (NewsLink) Links to nearly 20,000 free media links worldwide.
- Ohio Newspapers. (NewsLink) Links to Ohio newspapers broken out by various categories such as Daily, Business, Alternative, etc.
- Onlinenewspapers.com. (onlinenewspapers.com) Online Newspaper Directory. Searchable by country, broad regions, etc.
- RadioStationUSA. (RSU) Listing of radio stations by state with information on format.
- Research Databases List: Newspapers and Periodicals. (The Ohio State University Libraries) Links to 131 newspaper and periodical databases. Some of the resources are restricted to OSU affiliates, etc.
- Statehouse News Bureau. (The Statehouse News Bureau, RSS) Provides educational, comprehensive coverage of legislation, elections, issues and other activities surrounding the Statehouse to Ohio's public radio and television stations.
- WorldRadioMap. (Mikhail Shcherbak) Listing of radio stations by region and country.
Top
Occupations – See Employment
Opioid Epidemic
- National Opioids Crisis: Help and resources. (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) Information about the opioid crisis including treatment options, statistics, videos, laws, overdose prevention, etc.
- Opioid Epidemic in Ohio – Resources and Related Articles. (OSU Extension) Listing of resource and articles on the opioid crisis compiled by the Ohio State University Extension.
- Start Talking! Building a Drug-Free Future. (State of Ohio) Gives tips and tools for parents, educators and community leaders aimed at preventing drug use among children.
- See also Health
Top
Patents
Passports/Visas
Personal Safety
Pest Control
- Bed Bugs. (California Department of Public Health)
- Bed Bugs: Information, Resources & Management. (New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene) [Note some resources available also in Spanish and selected other languages.]
- Brown Marmorated Stink Bug. (United States Department of Agriculture. National Agricultural Library. National Invasive Species Information Center)
- Citizen's Guide to Pest Control and Pesticide Safety. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Prevention, Pesticides, and Toxic Substances, March 2005. Covers various topic in the safe use, hazards of pesticides, etc.
- Controlling Rodents and Regulating Rodenticides. (United States Environmental Protection Agency) Information on the control and eradication of mice and rats.
- Final Report and Recommendations to the Governor and Ohio General Assembly. Ohio Bed Bug Workgroup. Columbus, Ohio: Ohio Department of Health, Ohio Bed Bug Workgroup, 2011, 34p.
- Good night, sleep tight, and don't let the bed bugs bite -- your wallet. (Federal Trade Commission, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Division of Consumer & Business Education)
- Healthy Housing Reference Manual. Chapter 4: Disease Vectors and Pests. (Center for Disease Control and Prevention) Covers general control methods for rodents such as mice and rats, cockroaches, fleas, etc.
- Household Pest Control. (Oklahoma State University. Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service) Covers pest control basics for ants, cockroaches, bed bugs, fleas, etc.
- Pesticides: Controlling Pests. (United States Environmental Protection Agency) Information on pest control, regulations, ingredients, etc.
Phishing
Plagiarism
- Academic Misconduct and Plagiarism Videos. (The Ohio State University. Knowledge Bank) A series of videos developed to explain plagiarism to students. There are three versions varying from just over five minutes to just under nine. Need either RealPlayer video link, or Windows video link, or Flash video link.
- Citation Help: Resources for Citation Style Guides and Citation Software Management. (The Ohio State University. University Libraries)
- Plagiarism. (The Ohio State University. Copyright Resources Center) General overview of the topic with links to other resources on plagiarism.
- Plagiarism. (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Writing Center)
- Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It. (Indiana University Bloomington. Writing Tutorial Services)
- Plagiarism Information. (Purdue University Global. Academic Success & Writing Resource Center & Blog)
- See also Intellectual Property – Copyrights
- See also The Ohio State University Libraries – Copyright Services
Top
Postal Services
- Look up a ZIP Code. (United States Postal Service) Look up ZIP Codes™ by street address, city, and state. Or, find all ZIP Codes™ within a city and state, etc.
- Official USPS Abbreviations. (United States Postal Service) Abbreviation lists organized by states, street suffixes, and secondary units.
- Postal Code Search. (GlobeFeed.com) Links to 39 countries’ “Postal Code Lookup” applications.
Privacy Issues
Procurement, Government
- Business With the State. (Ohio)
- Doing Business with GSA: Quick Guide2013. Washington, D.C.: GSA, Office of Small Business Utilization, 2013. Contacting with the Federal Government – General Service Administration. Available also in Spanish.
- For Public Sale!: Used Federal Government Personal Property. Washington, D.C.: General Services Administration, July 2010. Information about how to go about buying Federal surplus.
- NASPO. (National Association of State Procurement Officials) Links to procurement agencies by state, District of Columbia, and territories.
- SAM.GOV. (General Services Administration -GSA) Contract opportunities, procurement notices from federal contracting offices. Includes information on pre-solicitation notices, solicitation notices, award notices, and sole source notices.
- Small Business Resources. (U.S. General Services Administration) Links to resources to help small businesses contracting with the GSA.
- TED. (European Union) Business opportunities, contracts, etc. by country.
- U.S. General Services Administration. (General Services Administration - GSA) links to how to go about selling to the Federal government, policies and regulations, etc.
Public Safety – See Emergency Management, Public Safety, and Terrorism
Top
Radio Stations – See News
Top
Safe Rooms/Shelters
- See – Natural Disasters
- See – Safety
- See – Weather
Safety
- Bike Safety. (U.S. Department of Transportation. NHTSA) Bike safety tips for parents and kids and links to other safety resources from the NHTSA. Available also in Spanish.
- Bulletins for Teens. (National Center for Victims of Crime) Geared to teens. Contains information on various topics such as assault, bullying and harassment, dating violence, sexual assault, stalking, human trafficking, etc.
- Consumer Information: Privacy & Identity - Kids’ Online Safety. (Federal Trade Commission) Listing of resources on the topic of children's assorted safety and privacy issues.
- Directory of Crime Victim Services. (Dept. of Justice. Office for Victims of Crime) Finding aid linking victims to specific services and programs available by location or type of victimization.
- Fire Safety. (U.S. Department of Labor. Occupational Safety & Health Administration) Standards and regulations for worker safety. Available also in Spanish and selected other languages.
- How to Deal with an Angry Drunk. (Alcohol Rehab Help) Blog post with advice on what to do and not do when confronted with an angry drunk. Provides links to assistance resources.
- Human Trafficking. (U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Center for Faith Based and Neighborhood Partnerships) Fact sheet on human trafficking.
- Injury Prevention & Control. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - CDC) Cover such topics as drowning, traumatic brain injury, firearm violence, sexual assault, etc. Available also in Spanish and selected other languages.
- Internet Safety: What You Don’t Know Can Hurt Your Child. Ohio Attorney General’s Office. Child and Elder Protection Section. Columbus, Ohio: Child & Elder Protection Section, 2006. Addresses child internet safety issues including cyberbullying and cyberstalking. Geared towards parents.
- Kids and Socializing Online. (Federal Trade Commission. Consumer Advice) Geared towards parents, covers safety issues social networking sites, etc. used by teens and tweens. Available also in Spanish.
- KidsHealth. (Nemours Foundation) Information a variety of health, behavior, etc. topics including fire safety, first aid, sexual harassment, bullying, and much more for kids, teens, and adults.
- Office on Women’s Health. (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Office on Women’s Health) Information on various topics including human trafficking, stalking, sexual assault, domestic abuse, etc. Links to other health related topics such as eating disorders, cancer, smoking, etc. Available also in Spanish
- Organizational Characteristics Associated with Risk of Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment in the U.S. Army. Miriam Matthews, Andrew R. Morral, Terry L. Schell, Matthew Cefalu, Joshua Snoke, and R. J. Briggs. Santa Monica California: RAND Corporation, 2021.
- Personal Safety Tips for Women. (Good Morning America – ABC)
- Privacy and Technology. (SafeHome.org) Discusses issues that modern technology poses to a person’s privacy and safety. Includes statistics.
- Report Tips and Scams. (Ohio Attorney General) Links to report Elder Abuse and fraud, consumer complaints and scams, Medicaid fraud, bid rigging, law enforcement tips, etc.
- Sexuality Studies 5620. (The Ohio State University Libraries. Jennifer Schnabel) Guide to augment Professor Zoe Brigley Thompson’s Sexuality and Violence course. Contains links to listing of selected titles held by OSUL on such topics as human trafficking, sex crimes, hate crimes, etc.
- Safety Spotlight. (The Ohio State University. Department of Public Safety) 10 part video series on campus resources and safety tips.
- Take a Bite out of Crime®. Violent Crime and Personal Safety. (National Crime Prevention Council) Information on personal and home safety as well as on cyberbullying, anti-counterfeiting and gun safety.
- Travel Advisories. (U.S. Department of State. Bureau of Consular Affairs) Travel warnings and alerts issued by the State Department arranged chronologically. Also searchable by country. Has links to information on countries or areas that you might be traveling to.
- Traveler's Checklist: Traveler Information. (U.S. Department of State. Bureau of Consular Affairs) Safety tips/information for travelling abroad by broad groupings such as Women, LGBTQI, these who have a disability, etc.
- Understanding Sexual Assault on College Campuses. (Best Colleges.com.) Provides links to reports and resources on the topic of sexual assault, tips on assault prevention, steps to take if assaulted, etc.
- Working for a Fire-safe America. (U.S. Fire Administration) Links to various fire related topics such as cooking fire, holiday fire safety, smoking and home fire safety, fire extinguishers, etc. Has a section for Kids on fire topics. Also has some statistical information on fire related topics.
- Youth Topics. (Youth.gov) Government web site sponsored by the Department of Education, Department of Health & Human Services, Department of Justice and 15 other federal agencies aimed at educators and teens with information on various topics including Dating Violence, Disaster Preparedness, Bullying, Cyberbullying, Suicide Prevention, Human Trafficking, etc. Each section has an explanation of the overall topics, then specific information on various aspects of the topic.
- See also Active Shooter
- See also Bullying
- See also Cyberstalking
- See also Identity Theft
- See also Natural Disasters
- See also Phishing
- See also Sexual Harassment
- See also Spam
- See also Weather
Savings Bonds (U.S.)
Scams
- See – Crime
- See – Privacy Issues
Scholarships -- See Financial Aid/Grants
Severe Weather Safety Tips
- See – Natural Disasters
- See – Safety
Sexual Harassment
- Buckeye Act. (The Ohio State University) OSU's comprehensive plan to combat sexual misconduct and relationship violence with links to reports and Vice President Biden's video on the topic.
- Federal #MeToo: Examining Sexual Harassment in Government Workplaces: Briefing Before the United States Commission on Civil Rights, Held in Washington, DC. Briefing Report. Marik Xavier-Brier. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, April 2020. Examines Equal Employee Opportunity Commission’s enforcement efforts to combat harassment.
- Free to Learn: Speech and Sexual Harassment on Campus: Briefing Before the United States Commission on Civil Rights held in Washington, D.C. Briefing Report. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, February 2020. Examines the potential conflict between freedom of speech and sexual harassment on college campuses.
- Sexual Harassment and Gender Discrimination in the Active-Component Army: Variation in Most Serious Event Characteristics by Gender and Installation Risk. Avery Calkins, Matthew Cefalu, Terry L. Schell, Linda Cottrell, Sarah O. Meadows, and Rebecca L. Collins. Santa Monica, California: RAND Corporation, 2021. Analysis of circumstances under which soldiers experience harassment and gender discrimination.
- What is Sexual Harassment. (U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission - EEOC) The EEOC definition of Sexual Harassment with examples of various conduct that it considers harassment.
- See also Safety
Social Security Administration (SSA)
Smoking – See Health
Spam
Stock Exchanges
- NASDAQ
- NYSE Euronext. The American Stock Exchange (AMEX) merged with the Dutch Euronext (N.V.) in 2007
- World Stock Exchange.net. A list of world stock exchanges, securities commissions and other regulatory agencies, as well as stock market resources
Substance Abuse/Use Disorder – See Health
Taxes
- Franklin County Auditor's Office. Property Tax information.
- Glossary. (Jackson Hewitt) Definitions for tax terms and terminology that occur in tax returns.
- Ohio Department of Taxation Contains links for e-filing, tax forms, and information on various tax topics, etc.
- Small Business Tax Information. (USA.gov) Tax information, links to state and territorial tax offices and forms. Some of the links do not work. Available also in Spanish.
- State Tax Authorities Sites Plus Finance & Insurance Contacts. (State and Local Government on the Net) Alphabetical list of State Tax Authorities by state.
- Taxes by State. (Retirement Living Information Center) Quick overview of tax rates and links to each state’s Department of Taxation
- See also Government Documents - Tax Forms
Television – See Public Radio /Television
Terrorism – See Emergency Management, Public Safety, and Terrorism
Tornadoes
Travel and Tourism
- Europe. Links to local tourism sites.
- Find a National Park. (National Park Service) Links to National Parks in U.S.
- Find Historic Places. (National Park Service) Links to Historic Places throughout the U.S.
- Historic Site Locator. (Ohio History Connection) Searchable links to museums and historic sites throughout the state of Ohio.
- Ohio. (Stateparks.com) Information on state parks in Ohio.
- State Tourism Sites. (State and Local Government on the Net) Alphabetical list of state departments or offices of tourism.
- Tourism. (Ohio.gov) Has listing of tourist attractions by broad categories such as Art & Culture, Museums and Historic Sites, etc.
- Travel.State.Gov. (U.S. Department of State. Bureau of Consular Affairs) Official U.S. government travel portal include news and information about international travel, passport and visas, etc.
Top
Vital Statistics (Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce Certificates)
Voting and Voter Registration
- County Boards of Election Directory. (Ohio Secretary of State) Contact Information for the various Ohio County Boards of Election.
- Elections & Voting. (Ohio Secretary of State) Information on voter registration, absentee voting, signing up to be a Poll worker, etc. (Note: Links work in Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox, but not in Google Chrome)
- Franklin County Board of Elections. (Franklin County Board of Elections) Provides voter information and education to the residents of Franklin County.
- League of Women Voters of Ohio. Source of information on issues and candidates appearing on the ballot.
- Register and Vote in Your State. (United States Election Assistance Commission) Links to state boards of elections arranged in alphabetical listing. Plus other voter related topics. Available also in Spanish and selected other languages.
- State Voter Information Directory. (U.S. Vote Foundation) Links to state voter information, most include deadlines, voter registration, and absentee ballot requests
- Voter Registration. (Franklin County Board of Elections) Links to forms to register to vote, etc.
Top
Weather
- Be Aware, Be Prepared, Take Action. United States. Federal Emergency Management Agency. [Washington, D.C.]: FEMA, 2021. Includes instructions of what to do during various weather and disasters.
- National Climate Assessment. (U.S. Global Change Research Program) Summarizes the impacts of climate change on the United States.
- National Weather Service.
- National Weather Service Safety Tips. (National Weather Service Forecast Office. Cleveland, Ohio). Covers safety tips for Tornado, Flash Flood, etc. safety.
- Weather Underground. (Weather Underground) Although primarily covering the U.S. there are some maps covering other locations. Formerly Intellicast - Global.
- Welcome to the Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness. (Ohio Committee for Severe Weather Awareness) Includes safety tips on weather related issues plus Carbon Monoxide, Power Outages, etc.
- Winter Storms, the Deceptive Killers: A Preparedness Guide. U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Weather Service, Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Red Cross. Silver Springs, Maryland: National Weather Service, June 2008. Guide for severe winter weather, including action plans, definitions of weather related terms, etc.
West Nile Virus – See Health
Wildfires
Work Visas
Top
Zika Virus – See Health
Zip Codes – See Postal Service
Continues Hot Topics (Topics A-E) and (Topics F-M)
Top
