Research Guides: BUSMHR 7412 Competitive Analysis: Companies

Company Research

As well as databases, it's worthwhile to explore the websites of interesting companies. They're normally easy to find and give you insight into how the company perceives themselves in the market (and how they position themselves and would like to be perceived).

NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
You can search from the main toolbar by company name, or use the 'Screening' tab to screen for a list of companies that match particular criteria (in a particular industry/geography, with particular financial or equity criteria). Company profiles are extensive including company summary information, biographical information on major executives and board members, key financials and valuation data, peer analysis, private ownership data and research reports. Public companies should have plentiful data; private company data may be available, but limited. Global coverage.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
At the top left of the homepage choose Menu, drop down to 'Company Dossier' to search by company name. Company Dossiers include some unique sections including associated brands, legal news (recent cases, etc.), associated intellectual property, investment analyst reports and SEC filings. If you're interested in earnings call transcripts you'll have to dig a bit deeper: Menu --> All Sources --> FD (Fair Disclosure) Wire (use to filter search) --> Search for your company by name.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
You can search by company name in the search bar at the top of the homepage. For the largest companies, company profiles will include SWOT analysis, closest industry peers and companies, analyst reports, 'Technologies in use', and financials including business and geographic segments. Also includes a page on 'Triggers' (news on major events like product launches or earnings announcements).
Value Line This link opens in a new window
This is an investment database. Company pages include financial strength ratings, 3-5 year projections, commentary, valuation data, annual rates of change, comparisons to peers, industry analysis, and insider transactions and institutional ownership information.
Mergent Online [Selected Articles in Full Text] This link opens in a new window
This database includes U.S. and international companies, both active and inactive. Company reports are extensive. Some unique aspects include information on property, subsidiaries, long term debt and business segments; ownership breakdown; news including web volume chart and business twitter trends; and comparisons to competitors including competitor-related news.
Morningstar This link opens in a new window
This is another investment research database. Company profiles include market data and recommendations, stock analysis and performance measures, a valuation section, and information on shareholders.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
This is one of the few resources geared towards information on private companies. Information is limited, but there's a chance to find something if it's a U.S. private company, especially a large one. Bear in mind that a lot of financial information will be estimates.